Side-by-side card comparison

Brighty vs Uphold US: same score, different trade-offs

Brighty Card and Uphold Card US share an Overall Score of 70. Brighty Card looks stronger for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback.

Information checked Oct 14, 202638 official sources reviewed

01 · A level score

The scores are tied, but the cards are not the same

Brighty Card and Uphold Card US have the same Overall Score. Start with what matters most to you: day-to-day costs, rewards, control of your funds or moving money. The sections below show how they differ. You should also check that your preferred card is available in your country.

OverallBrighty70Uphold US70Same score
CashbackBrighty48Uphold US75Higher score
TravelBrighty80Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlBrighty65Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesBrighty67Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersBrighty93Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Brighty Card if travel and funds control matter most

Brighty Card comes out ahead for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Free entry plan
  • USDC cashback
  • Multiple account rails

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback matters most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where the cards part company

A tied score can hide meaningful differences in cost, custody, rewards and everyday access.

Overall Score
Brighty70
Uphold US70

Both cards have the same displayed Overall Score of 70.

Entry cost & FX
Brighty$0 plan · Visa: up to 2% foreign-transaction fee. Mastercard: not disclosed in the reviewed Brighty sources FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

Uphold Card US has the lower published FX fee (0–1.5% vs Visa: up to 2% foreign-transaction fee. Mastercard: not disclosed in the reviewed Brighty sources).

Purchase rewards
Brighty0.5% base · up to 1.75%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0.5%).

Funds control
BrightyCustodial balance
Uphold USCustodial balance

Brighty Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
BrightyVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Uphold Card US lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 3).

Money movement
Brighty2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; SEPA / Faster Payments payout, SWIFT payout
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Brighty Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the tie

The score is level. These quick facts show where the cards still ask you to make a choice.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0.5%-1.8%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
Visa: up to 2% foreign-transaction fee. Mastercard: not disclosed in the reviewed Brighty sources
ATM fee
Not disclosed
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay
Receive methods
4 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
16 crypto · 4 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

Put the details side by side

We highlight a better number only when both cards publish values that can be compared fairly. Anything missing stays clearly marked.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Brighty CardOverall70
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Brighty Card
70
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Brighty Card
48
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Brighty Card
80
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Brighty Card
65
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Brighty Card
67
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Brighty Card
93
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Brighty Card
Free entry plan, USDC cashback
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Brighty Card
Network-specific FX gap, Physical terms vary
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Brighty Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Brighty Card
Visa: up to 2% foreign-transaction fee. Mastercard: not disclosed in the reviewed Brighty sources
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Brighty Card
0.3–0.7%
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Brighty Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Brighty Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Brighty Card
Visa and Mastercard: published issue price €2.99; included-card interaction unresolved
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Brighty Card
Visa: One unavailable; Plus includes one and Pro includes two, with €0 issue price
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Brighty Card
3 plans: One, Plus, Pro
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Brighty Card
One: 0.5%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Brighty Card
Visa/Mastercard
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Brighty Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Brighty Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Brighty Card
Apple Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Brighty Card
iOS, Android
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Brighty Card
Published period is ambiguous: virtual Visa €15k on One/Plus/Pro; virtual Mastercard €50k / €75k / €100k on One / Plus / Pro
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Brighty Card
Published period is ambiguous: physical Visa €15k on both Plus and Pro
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Brighty Card
ATM withdrawal limits are not published; only physical Visa fees are known
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Brighty Card
Ethereum, Tron, Bitcoin SegWit, Bitcoin Legacy, Cardano, Tezos +6
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Brighty Card
Stablecoins: USDC, EURC; Other crypto: BTC, ETH
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Brighty Card
SEPA / Faster Payments, SWIFT
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Brighty Card
Stablecoin transfers; SEPA / Faster Payments payout, SWIFT payout
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Brighty Card
EUR, GBP, USD, AED
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Brighty Card
0.5%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Brighty Card
1.8%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Brighty Card
USDC
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Brighty Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Brighty Card
Earn on spending balance
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Brighty Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Brighty Card
Yes
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Brighty Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

6 fields
Custody
Brighty Card
Custodial
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Brighty Card
Provider controls funds
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Brighty Card
Wallester AS
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Custody / key management
Brighty Card
Fireblocks
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Identity verification
Brighty Card
Sumsub
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Programme operator
Brighty Card
BTY Digital AG
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Brighty Card
25
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Brighty Card
Oct 6, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The closer call

Brighty Card and Uphold Card US need a closer personal call

The Overall Score ends level at 70, so there is no honest all-round winner here. Uphold Card US has the lower published FX fee (0–1.5% vs Visa: up to 2% foreign-transaction fee. Mastercard: not disclosed in the reviewed Brighty sources). Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0.5%).

Brighty Card looks stronger for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback. Brighty Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Brighty Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2). Your final check should be whether the card is available where you live and whether the latest provider terms match the features you expect to use.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Brighty Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Brighty vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Brighty or Uphold US better overall?

Brighty Card and Uphold Card US tie at 70 in the Overall Score. Compare their costs, rewards, way of holding funds and everyday features to decide which suits you.

Which has lower fees, Brighty or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the lower published FX fee (0–1.5% vs Visa: up to 2% foreign-transaction fee. Mastercard: not disclosed in the reviewed Brighty sources). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Brighty or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0.5%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Brighty and Uphold US differ on custody?

Brighty Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this Brighty vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 38 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Keep comparing

See how each card compares with other close alternatives, or choose a different pair yourself.

Open the comparison workspace