Side-by-side card comparison

Fold Debit vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

Fold Debit Card has the higher Overall Score by 3 points (73 vs 70). Fold Debit Card looks stronger for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback.

Information checked Oct 14, 202642 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Fold Debit Card is the better all-round starting point

Fold Debit Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Uphold Card US may be the better fit for Cashback. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallFold Debit73Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackFold Debit45Uphold US75Higher score
TravelFold Debit78Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlFold Debit59Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesFold Debit72Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersFold Debit78Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Fold Debit Card if travel and funds control matter most

Fold Debit Card comes out ahead for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Several USD funding routes
  • Physical card and phone wallets
  • BTC rewards in the Reserve rollout

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback matters most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
Fold Debit73
Uphold US70

Fold Debit Card has the higher Overall Score by 3 points.

Entry cost & FX
Fold Debit$0 plan · $3 fixed foreign-purchase fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; Visa conversion separate FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option.

Purchase rewards
Fold Debit0% base · up to 15%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Funds control
Fold DebitCustodial balance
Uphold USCustodial balance

Fold Debit Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
Fold DebitVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
Fold Debit0 stablecoins · ACH withdrawal, Instant debit-card withdrawal, ATM withdrawal, ACH bill pay
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Fold Debit Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (4 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0%-15%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
$3 fixed foreign-purchase fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; Visa conversion separate
ATM fee
$3.50 Fold fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; operator fees separate
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 2 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Fold Debit CardOverall73
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Fold Debit Card
73
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Fold Debit Card
45
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Fold Debit Card
78
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Fold Debit Card
59
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Fold Debit Card
72
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Fold Debit Card
78
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Fold Debit Card
Several USD funding routes, Physical card and phone wallets
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Fold Debit Card
U.S.-only applications, Free-plan ATM and foreign fees
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Fold Debit Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Fold Debit Card
$3 fixed foreign-purchase fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; Visa conversion separate
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Fold Debit Card
Instant debit funding costs 1.5%, capped at $25; ACH and direct-deposit routes are separate
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Fold Debit Card
0%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Fold Debit Card
$3.50 Fold fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; operator fees separate
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Fold Debit Card
$0 card purchase fee
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Fold Debit Card
9 plans: Fold (legacy), Fold+ (legacy), Reserve base, Reserve $5,000 +5
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Fold Debit Card
Reserve $100,000: 3%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Fold Debit Card
Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Fold Debit Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Fold Debit Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Fold Debit Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Fold Debit Card
iOS, Android
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Fold Debit Card
$15,000 per transaction and per day
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Fold Debit Card
$50,000 per month
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Fold Debit Card
$250 per withdrawal; $1,000 daily and monthly
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Fold Debit Card
Linked-bank ACH, Direct deposit, Instant debit-card funding
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Fold Debit Card
ACH withdrawal, Instant debit-card withdrawal, ATM withdrawal, ACH bill pay
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Fold Debit Card
USD, USD cash equivalent
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Fold Debit Card
0%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Fold Debit Card
15%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Fold Debit Card
Bitcoin
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

6 fields
Custody
Fold Debit Card
Custodial
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Fold Debit Card
Provider controls funds
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Fold Debit Card
Sutton Bank
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Card processing
Fold Debit Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Fold Debit Card
BitGo Bank and Trust, N.A. / BitGo Prime LLC
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Bank transfers
Fold Debit Card
Plaid Inc., Astra, Inc.
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Fold Debit Card
29
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Fold Debit Card
Oct 14, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Fold Debit Card is the stronger all-round choice

Fold Debit Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 73 versus 70 for Uphold Card US. The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Uphold Card US still comes out ahead for Cashback, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. Fold Debit Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Fold Debit Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (4 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Fold Debit Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Fold Debit vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Fold Debit or Uphold US better overall?

Fold Debit Card has the higher Overall Score (73 vs 70). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Fold Debit or Uphold US?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Fold Debit or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Fold Debit and Uphold US differ on custody?

Fold Debit Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this Fold Debit vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 42 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace