Main strengths
- No provider FX fee; Visa rates apply to foreign-currency purchases.
- Eligible partner purchases can earn up to 5% back, paid in bitcoin.
- Phone wallets are confirmed by a CG reviewer; account restrictions may apply.
Crypto-backed Visa credit card
Lava Card spends from a custodial USD balance with Apple Pay and Google Pay, paying BTC rewards up to 3% in the U.S., 1% internationally and 5% at partners. Monthly and base issuance fees are $0, with no added Lava funding markup; route fees can apply, and country access and card formats remain unconfirmed.
Main strengths
Main trade-offs
01 · Core economics
Lava Card has a $0 recurring entry cost. Funding, conversion, FX and cash-access charges are shown separately below.
02 · Category rewards
Rewards Terms set ceilings of 3% for U.S. cardholders, 1% internationally and 5% at selected partners. Actual rewards can be lower. No general monthly cap or time-lock currently applies, but individual promotions can have separate caps and conditions. Redemption starts at 100,000 sats (0.001 BTC).
Lowest current purchase reward rate
Maximum published rate; the base rate is not confirmed
BTC
Category-specific eligible-spend caps are not disclosed
Current rate schedule
The U.S., international and partner rates below are ceilings. Selected partners include Apple, Amazon, OpenAI, Anthropic and Cursor; the current partner page lists 17 merchants. Actual rates, eligibility and promotion-specific caps can differ.
U.S. cardholders: up to 3%, subject to eligibility and exclusions; not a guaranteed base rate.
Eligible spend cap not disclosedInternational cardholders: up to 1%, subject to eligibility and exclusions; not a guaranteed base rate.
Eligible spend cap not disclosedUp to 5% on eligible partner purchases. Offers vary by region, cardholder and dates; offer-specific caps are unverified.
Eligible spend cap not disclosedCashback is credited usually within 24 hours of settlement; some transactions take 1–3 days in BTC. Merchant coding, programme exclusions, reversals and clawbacks still apply.
03 · Everyday use
See the available card formats, phone wallets and account rails, plus any channels that are still being confirmed.
04 · Money in and out
The card uses the provider account balance. Account funding and withdrawal routes are included only when they feed that same card-linked account; they are not presented as direct card top-ups.
1 route
Via provider account
Supported asset and network combinations
Receive fee not publicly confirmed
Deposit limits not publicly confirmed
Lava lists ten deposit networks across three assets; the exact asset-network matrix is not published. USDC withdrawals are supported on all ten networks.
1 route
Via provider account
Bank deposits are available in USD, EUR and MXN for eligible linked accounts. Direct deposits fund USD. Route availability and fees depend on region; deposit currencies do not establish payout currencies.
Not publicly confirmed
Funding and settlement cross wallet and provider-controlled account boundaries.
These are routes into the Lava account balance used for card spending.
1 route
Base, Celo, Optimism, Polygon, Stellar, Tempo
Via provider account
USDC: Solana, Ethereum, Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Celo, Optimism, Polygon +2
Solana, Ethereum, Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Celo, Optimism, Polygon, Stellar and Tempo
Not publicly confirmed
Provider-account route; card access and route eligibility must both apply. Deposit support for USDT/PYUSD does not establish outbound support for those assets.
1 route
Via provider account
Eligible linked USD and EUR bank accounts; regional availability applies
Route dependent; foreign-fiat withdrawals include an undisclosed conversion spread
Not publicly confirmed
Bank payouts are available in USD and EUR, subject to region and linked-account eligibility. SWIFT is not supported; domestic USD wires are limited to eligible users. MXN/SPEI is confirmed for deposits only.
05 · Optional product
Lava USD Yield Account adds a variable yield option through a separate deposit. Move funds back to the spending balance when direct card spend is not supported.
Up to 6.5% APY
06 · Trust and eligibility
See current signup reach, identity checks and the organisations behind the card.
Identity verification is required to access card services.
Card access varies by country or programme.
The named organisations and their current roles are listed below.
Provides the product and account experience. Named legal operators appear separately.
Controls settlement until payment.
Hybrid custody. USD card funds are custodial. A CG reviewer confirmed a separate non-custodial wallet created through Privy. Lava describes distributed settlement signatures and custodians; BLOC describes self-custodial BTC collateral. Exact signing and recovery powers remain unverified.Issues the card for the applicable programme.
Applies to: U.S. and international card agreements; the name alone does not establish a bank charter, licence, insurance or separate regional legal entity.07 · Methodology
The score combines practical costs, rewards, daily usability, funding and transfers, eligibility, custody, and the provider stack.
Missing or undisclosed fields receive no positive credit.
Higher is better
2 inbound and 2 outbound routes cover crypto deposits, crypto withdrawals and bank payouts.
Visa spending includes Apple Pay and Google Pay.
Published rewards reach up to 5%, while the guaranteed base rate remains unconfirmed.
09 · Card comparison
A side-by-side look at cards built around stablecoin funding, everyday Visa access and money movement.

Phone wallets are confirmed by a CG reviewer; account restrictions may apply.
Compare up to four cards in detail across fees, rewards, everyday use, money movement, custody and more.
10 · Evidence
We check every published fact and value against official product, fee, membership and legal information covering costs, eligibility, rewards and custody.
Help keep this page accurate
Tell us what changed and, if possible, include an official source. We review corrections before updating public card facts.