Side-by-side card comparison

Coinbase vs Decaf

Coinbase Card and Decaf Card share an Overall Score of 64. Coinbase Card looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, and Transfers, while Decaf Card comes out ahead for Funds control and Lowest fees.

Latest check Oct 19, 202643 official sources reviewed

Coinbase Card

Best fit

  • Existing Coinbase users spending cash or supported crypto from their account.
  • U.S. users funding a spending balance through a linked bank or payroll.
  • U.S. cash withdrawals with no Coinbase ATM fee; operator fees can apply.

Before you choose

  • Crypto spending includes a variable sale spread, even on zero-fee purchases.
  • Rewards are U.S.-only; available assets and rates rotate in the app.
  • U.S., UK and EEA cards have separate fees, limits and phone-wallet support.

Decaf Card

Best fit

  • Spending USDC received on Solana or Stellar through a separate card load.
  • Using the virtual Visa for Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases.
  • Receiving bank payments as USDC before allocating funds to the card.

Before you choose

  • Virtual issuance costs $5; physical cards cost $10–$90 by region.
  • US international fees are 1%; the non-USD international FX ceiling is 2%.
  • Card collateral can be liquidated; US withdrawals require prior notice.

Fees & features

Compare the details

Best markers compare published, comparable values. Unknown values never win a row.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Coinbase CardOverall64
Decaf CardOverall64
01

Scores

Overall Score
Coinbase Card
64
Decaf Card
64
Cashback score
Coinbase Card
36
Decaf Card
29
Travel score
Coinbase Card
61
Decaf Card
60
Funds control score
Coinbase Card
48
Decaf Card
63
Lowest fees score
Coinbase Card
55
Decaf Card
57
Transfers score
Coinbase Card
84
Decaf Card
70
02

Costs

Plan cost
Coinbase Card
$0
Decaf Card
$0
FX fee
Coinbase Card
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
Decaf Card
1–2%
Top-up fee
Coinbase Card
Linked-bank and payroll funding are marketed at $0; other Coinbase account funding routes were not reviewed for this card profile
Decaf Card
Card-load fee unknown; parent-account bank deposits have separate charges
Card spending fee
Coinbase Card
0%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Coinbase Card
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Decaf Card
0% Decaf markup
Virtual card
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
$5
Physical card
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
$90 international / $10 US
03

Plans

Available plans
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Top cashback plan
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
04

Everyday use

Network
Coinbase Card
Visa
Decaf Card
Visa
Card formats
Coinbase Card
Virtual, Physical
Decaf Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Coinbase Card
Available
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Mobile wallets
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Coinbase Card
iOS, Android
Decaf Card
iOS, Android, Web
Daily spending limit
Coinbase Card
$2,500 per 24 hours in the U.S. programme
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Monthly spending limit
Coinbase Card
U.S. monthly spend limit not published; U.K./EEA limits are customer-specific
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM limit
Coinbase Card
$1,000 per 24 hours in the U.S.; U.K./EEA values are shown in app
Decaf Card
$250 per withdrawal; up to 3 withdrawals daily
05

Funding & transfers

Networks
Coinbase Card
Coinbase-supported networks
Decaf Card
Solana, Stellar
Crypto deposits
Coinbase Card
Other crypto: Supported crypto
Decaf Card
Stablecoins: USDC
Fiat deposits
Coinbase Card
Linked bank account, Payroll deposit
Decaf Card
USD, EUR and MXN account receipts
Transfers
Coinbase Card
Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out
Decaf Card
Parent-account bank withdrawals, MoneyGram cash pickup
Payout currencies
Coinbase Card
USD, GBP, EUR
Decaf Card
USD, EUR, MXN, COP, BRL, ARS, VES
06

Rewards

Base cashback
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Max cashback
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Reward currency
Coinbase Card
Selected crypto offer
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
07

Earn

Advertised APY
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
How it works
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Optional earn vault
Separate deposit
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Yes
Use balance for spending
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Lock-up
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
08

Trust & availability

Custody
Coinbase Card
Custodial
Decaf Card
Non-custodial
Control until payment
Coinbase Card
Provider controls funds
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Card issuer
Coinbase Card
Pathward, N.A., Paysafe Financial Services Limited, Paysafe Payment Solutions Limited
Decaf Card
Third National, Inc.
Card processing
Coinbase Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Decaf Card
Rain
Deposits & withdrawals
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
MoneyGram
09

Sources

Official sources
Coinbase Card
22
Decaf Card
21
Last reviewed
Coinbase Card
Aug 30, 2026
Decaf Card
Oct 19, 2026

Choosing between these cards

When to choose Coinbase or Decaf

Sending money to a bank

For bank payouts, Coinbase has reviewed routes in EUR, GBP, USD; Decaf has routes in ARS, BRL, COP, EUR and other currencies. Choose the route for your destination currency and check its country coverage and fee.

Matching the card to your plans

Coinbase: Existing Coinbase users spending cash or supported crypto from their account. Decaf: Spending USDC received on Solana or Stellar through a separate card load.

Common questions

Coinbase vs Decaf FAQ

Is Coinbase or Decaf better overall?

Coinbase Card and Decaf Card tie at 64 in the Overall Score. Compare their costs, rewards, way of holding funds and everyday features to decide which suits you.

Which has lower fees, Coinbase or Decaf?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Coinbase or Decaf?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Coinbase and Decaf differ on custody?

Coinbase Card uses a custodial balance setup, while Decaf Card uses a non-custodial account setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Coinbase vs Decaf comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 19, 2026, using 43 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

More comparisons

Open the comparison workspace