Side-by-side card comparison

Karta Personal vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 8 points (70 vs 62). Karta Personal Card looks stronger for Funds control and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees.

Information checked Oct 16, 202638 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US is the better all-round starting point

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Karta Personal Card may be the better fit for Funds control and Transfers. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallKarta Personal62Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackKarta Personal15Uphold US75Higher score
TravelKarta Personal47Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlKarta Personal92Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesKarta Personal55Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersKarta Personal91Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Karta Personal Card if funds control and transfers matter most

Karta Personal Card comes out ahead for Funds control and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • USDT and USDC deposits across multiple networks
  • Apple Pay, Google Pay and contactless ATM access
  • Live multi-network crypto payouts

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback and travel matter most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
Karta Personal62
Uphold US70

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 8 points.

Entry cost & FX
Karta Personal$0 plan · 1–3% FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

Uphold Card US has the lower published FX fee (0–1.5% vs 1–3%).

Purchase rewards
Karta Personal0% cashback
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Funds control
Karta PersonalSelf-controlled wallet
Uphold USCustodial balance

Karta Personal Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
Karta PersonalVirtual · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Uphold Card US lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 3).

Money movement
Karta Personal3 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; Karta-to-Karta transfer; Bank payout
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Karta Personal Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (6 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
1–3%
ATM fee
USD 1 + 2.5% per successful contactless withdrawal; USD 1 for a declined attempt
Card formats
Virtual
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
2 crypto · 7 fiat
Payout methods
5 crypto · 0 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

Partner links may earn us a commission. Read our affiliate disclosure for how these links work.

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Karta Personal CardOverall62
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Karta Personal Card
62
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Karta Personal Card
15
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Karta Personal Card
47
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Karta Personal Card
92
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Karta Personal Card
55
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Karta Personal Card
91
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Karta Personal Card
USDT and USDC deposits across multiple networks, Apple Pay, Google Pay and contactless ATM access
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Karta Personal Card
Several separate foreign-payment charges, Telegram Mini App is the only app surface
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Karta Personal Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Karta Personal Card
1–3%
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Karta Personal Card
Free on Polygon, Base, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum, Solana and Ethereum; 5.90 USDT on TRC-20
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Karta Personal Card
1.5%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Karta Personal Card
USD 1 + 2.5% per successful contactless withdrawal; USD 1 for a declined attempt
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Karta Personal Card
5 USDT one-time
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Karta Personal Card
99 USDT plastic / 299 USDT Metal LED preorder
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Karta Personal Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Karta Personal Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Karta Personal Card
Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Karta Personal Card
Virtual
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Karta Personal Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Karta Personal Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Karta Personal Card
No app listed
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Karta Personal Card
$25,000 per transaction; no universal daily amount published
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Karta Personal Card
Not publicly disclosed; limits are dynamic
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Karta Personal Card
$250 per contactless withdrawal; maximum 3 attempts per rolling 24h
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Karta Personal Card
Polygon, Base, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum, Solana +17
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Karta Personal Card
Stablecoins: USDT, USDC
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Karta Personal Card
USD ACH, USD SWIFT, USD Domestic wire, EUR SEPA +3
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Karta Personal Card
Stablecoin transfers; Karta-to-Karta transfer; Bank payout
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Karta Personal Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Karta Personal Card
0%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Karta Personal Card
0%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Karta Personal Card
No cashback
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Karta Personal Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Karta Personal Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Karta Personal Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Karta Personal Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Karta Personal Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

6 fields
Custody
Karta Personal Card
Self-custody
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Karta Personal Card
You keep control
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Karta Personal Card
Nimbus LLC d/b/a Third National
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Custody / key management
Karta Personal Card
Privy
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Identity verification
Karta Personal Card
Sumsub
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Programme operator
Karta Personal Card
Karta Finance, Inc.
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Karta Personal Card
25
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Karta Personal Card
Oct 16, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Uphold Card US is the stronger all-round choice

Uphold Card US finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 70 versus 62 for Karta Personal Card. Uphold Card US has the lower published FX fee (0–1.5% vs 1–3%). Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Karta Personal Card still comes out ahead for Funds control and Transfers, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. Karta Personal Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Karta Personal Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (6 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Karta Personal Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Karta Personal vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Karta Personal or Uphold US better overall?

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score (70 vs 62). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Karta Personal or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the lower published FX fee (0–1.5% vs 1–3%). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Karta Personal or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Karta Personal and Uphold US differ on custody?

Karta Personal Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Karta Personal vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 16, 2026, using 38 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace