Side-by-side card comparison

Tria vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 3 points (70 vs 67). Tria Card looks stronger for Funds control, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, Lowest fees, and Transfers.

Information checked Oct 14, 202634 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US is the better all-round starting point

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Tria Card may be the better fit for Funds control. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallTria67Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackTria45Uphold US75Higher score
TravelTria63Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlTria91Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesTria51Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersTria63Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Tria Card if funds control matters most

Tria Card comes out ahead for Funds control in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Self-custody wallet linked to card spend
  • Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
  • Higher tiers raise caps and perks

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback and travel matter most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, Lowest fees, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
Tria67
Uphold US70

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 3 points.

Entry cost & FX
Tria$20/year plan · 0–3% FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

Uphold Card US has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $20/year).

Purchase rewards
Tria1.5% base · up to 6%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 1.5%).

Funds control
TriaSelf-controlled wallet
Uphold USCustodial balance

Tria Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
TriaVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
Tria2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Tria Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (3 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
1.5%-6%
Plan cost
$20/year
FX fee
0–3%
ATM fee
Up to $2 + 3%; inquiry/decline up to $2
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
5 crypto · 0 fiat
Payout methods
5 crypto · 0 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Tria CardOverall67
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Tria Card
67
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Tria Card
45
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Tria Card
63
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Tria Card
91
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Tria Card
51
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Tria Card
63
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Tria Card
Self-custody wallet linked to card spend, Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Tria Card
Entry tier is paid, Funding and FX use separate fee layers
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Tria Card
$20/year
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Tria Card
0–3%
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Tria Card
1%
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Tria Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Tria Card
Up to $2 + 3%; inquiry/decline up to $2
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Tria Card
$20/year Lite membership; issued after payment and KYC
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Tria Card
Pro $109/year PVC card + virtual; Max $250/year metal card + virtual; shipping is country/batch gated
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Tria Card
3 plans: Lite, Pro, Max
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Tria Card
Max: 6%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Tria Card
Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Tria Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Tria Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Tria Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Tria Card
iOS, Android, Web
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Tria Card
Dynamic / collateral-based; marketing claims up to $1,000,000/day
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Tria Card
Dynamic / collateral-based; marketing claims up to $1,000,000/day
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Tria Card
$750/withdrawal; 3 withdrawals/24h
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Tria Card
Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC +2
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Tria Card
Stablecoins: USDC, USDT; Other crypto: BTC, ETH, SOL
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Tria Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Tria Card
Stablecoin transfers
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Tria Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Tria Card
1.5%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Tria Card
6%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Tria Card
USDC and/or USDT stablecoins cashback
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Tria Card
Up to 15% APY
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Tria Card
Optional earn vault
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Tria Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Tria Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Tria Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

5 fields
Custody
Tria Card
Self-custody
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Tria Card
You keep control
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Tria Card
Nimbus, LLC, Third National
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Custody / key management
Tria Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Programme operator
Tria Card
Threely Dimensions Inc.
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Tria Card
21
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Tria Card
Sep 30, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Uphold Card US is the stronger all-round choice

Uphold Card US finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 70 versus 67 for Tria Card. Uphold Card US has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $20/year). Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 1.5%).

Tria Card still comes out ahead for Funds control, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. Tria Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Tria Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (3 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Tria Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Tria vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Tria or Uphold US better overall?

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score (70 vs 67). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Tria or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $20/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Tria or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 1.5%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Tria and Uphold US differ on custody?

Tria Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Tria vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 34 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace