Side-by-side card comparison

Uphold US vs Decaf

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 8 points (72 vs 64). Uphold Card US looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, and Transfers, while Decaf Card comes out ahead for Funds control.

Latest check Oct 19, 202634 official sources reviewed

Uphold Card US

Best fit

  • Spending assets already in Uphold without a separate card top-up.
  • Trying Essential without an annual fee or a paid Elite subscription.
  • Earning Essential's current 2% XRP reward, capped at $120/month.

Before you choose

  • Advertised rates last three months from activation; later rates are unknown.
  • Crypto sale fees can exceed cashback; BTC and ETH typically cost 2.05–2.2%.
  • U.S. residents only; New York, Louisiana and U.S. territories are excluded.

Decaf Card

Best fit

  • Spending USDC received on Solana or Stellar through a separate card load.
  • Using the virtual Visa for Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases.
  • Receiving bank payments as USDC before allocating funds to the card.

Before you choose

  • Virtual issuance costs $5; physical cards cost $10–$90 by region.
  • US international fees are 1%; the non-USD international FX ceiling is 2%.
  • Card collateral can be liquidated; US withdrawals require prior notice.

Fees & features

Compare the details

Best markers compare published, comparable values. Unknown values never win a row.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Uphold Card USOverall72
Decaf CardOverall64
01

Scores

Overall Score
Uphold Card US
72
Decaf Card
64
Cashback score
Uphold Card US
76
Decaf Card
29
Travel score
Uphold Card US
72
Decaf Card
60
Funds control score
Uphold Card US
53
Decaf Card
63
Lowest fees score
Uphold Card US
57
Decaf Card
57
Transfers score
Uphold Card US
87
Decaf Card
70
02

Costs

Plan cost
Uphold Card US
$0
Decaf Card
$0
FX fee
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Decaf Card
1–2%
Top-up fee
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Decaf Card
Card-load fee unknown; parent-account bank deposits have separate charges
Card spending fee
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Decaf Card
0% Decaf markup
Virtual card
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Decaf Card
$5
Physical card
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
Decaf Card
$90 international / $10 US
03

Plans

Available plans
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Top cashback plan
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
04

Everyday use

Network
Uphold Card US
Visa
Decaf Card
Visa
Card formats
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
Decaf Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Uphold Card US
Available
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Mobile wallets
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Decaf Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Decaf Card
iOS, Android, Web
Daily spending limit
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Monthly spending limit
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM limit
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
Decaf Card
$250 per withdrawal; up to 3 withdrawals daily
05

Funding & transfers

Networks
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Solana, Stellar
Crypto deposits
Uphold Card US
Other crypto: BTC, ETH
Decaf Card
Stablecoins: USDC
Fiat deposits
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Decaf Card
USD, EUR and MXN account receipts
Transfers
Uphold Card US
Stablecoin transfers; US bank withdrawal
Decaf Card
Parent-account bank withdrawals, MoneyGram cash pickup
Payout currencies
Uphold Card US
USD
Decaf Card
USD, EUR, MXN, COP, BRL, ARS, VES
06

Rewards

Base cashback
Uphold Card US
2%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Max cashback
Uphold Card US
4%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Reward currency
Uphold Card US
XRP
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
07

Earn

Advertised APY
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
How it works
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Decaf Card
Optional earn vault
Separate deposit
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Decaf Card
Yes
Use balance for spending
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Lock-up
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
08

Trust & availability

Custody
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Decaf Card
Non-custodial
Control until payment
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Card issuer
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Decaf Card
Third National, Inc.
Card processing
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Rain
Custody / key management
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Deposits & withdrawals
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
MoneyGram
09

Sources

Official sources
Uphold Card US
13
Decaf Card
21
Last reviewed
Uphold Card US
Oct 17, 2026
Decaf Card
Oct 19, 2026

Choosing between these cards

When to choose Uphold US or Decaf

Spending in foreign currencies

For FX on foreign-currency purchases, Uphold US lists 0–1.5%, versus 1–2% at Decaf. Use the tariff for your country and plan; conversion fees can add to these figures.

Sending money to a bank

For bank payouts, Uphold US has reviewed routes in USD; Decaf has routes in ARS, BRL, COP, EUR and other currencies. Choose the route for your destination currency and check its country coverage and fee.

Using the crypto you already hold

Uphold US's reviewed deposit assets include BTC, ETH; Decaf's include USDC. If you already hold one of these assets, compare its deposit network and conversion route before moving funds.

Common questions

Uphold US vs Decaf FAQ

Is Uphold US or Decaf better overall?

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score (72 vs 64). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Uphold US or Decaf?

Uphold Card US has the lower published FX fee (0–1.5% vs 1–2%). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Uphold US or Decaf?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Uphold US and Decaf differ on custody?

Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup, while Decaf Card uses a non-custodial account setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Uphold US vs Decaf comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 19, 2026, using 34 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

More comparisons

Open the comparison workspace