Side-by-side card comparison

ZEN vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score by 7 points (77 vs 70). ZEN Card looks stronger for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback.

Information checked Oct 14, 202656 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

ZEN Card is the better all-round starting point

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Uphold Card US may be the better fit for Cashback. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallZEN77Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackZEN39Uphold US75Higher score
TravelZEN96Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlZEN65Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesZEN81Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersZEN98Uphold US65Higher score

Choose ZEN Card if travel and funds control matter most

ZEN Card comes out ahead for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Free plan with 0.5% weekday FX margin
  • Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
  • Four current crypto-route assets

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback matters most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
ZEN77
Uphold US70

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score by 7 points.

Entry cost & FX
ZEN$0 plan · 0–0.5% FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

ZEN Card has the lower published FX fee (0–0.5% vs 0–1.5%).

Purchase rewards
ZEN0% base
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Funds control
ZENCustodial balance
Uphold USCustodial balance

ZEN Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
ZENVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
ZEN2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; Card-to-card transfer; SEPA transfers
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

ZEN Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0% base
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–0.5%
ATM fee
0–1.5%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
4 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
4 crypto · 1 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
ZEN CardOverall77
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
ZEN Card
77
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
ZEN Card
39
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
ZEN Card
96
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
ZEN Card
65
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
ZEN Card
81
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
ZEN Card
98
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
ZEN Card
Free plan with 0.5% weekday FX margin, Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
ZEN Card
Free-plan ATM withdrawals cost 1.5%, No universal public cashback rate
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
ZEN Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
ZEN Card
0–0.5%
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
ZEN Card
0–3%
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
ZEN Card
0%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
ZEN Card
0–1.5%
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
ZEN Card
Free/Gold: 1 included; Platinum/Pro: 3 included; next card €5
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
ZEN Card
Free first card €10; Gold 1 included; Platinum/Pro 2 included; next card €10
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
ZEN Card
4 plans: Free, Gold, Platinum, Pro
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
ZEN Card
Free: 0%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
ZEN Card
Mastercard/Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
ZEN Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
ZEN Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
ZEN Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
ZEN Card
iOS, Android, Web
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
ZEN Card
Standard €10,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
ZEN Card
Not publicly confirmed
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
ZEN Card
Standard €2,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
ZEN Card
Stablecoins: USDT, USDC; Other crypto: BTC, ETH
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
ZEN Card
SEPA bank transfer, Payment-card top-up
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
ZEN Card
Stablecoin transfers; Card-to-card transfer; SEPA transfers
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
ZEN Card
EUR
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
ZEN Card
0%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
ZEN Card
Transaction currency
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
ZEN Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
ZEN Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
ZEN Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
ZEN Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
ZEN Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

5 fields
Custody
ZEN Card
Custodial
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
ZEN Card
Provider controls funds
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
ZEN Card
UAB ZEN.COM
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Custody / key management
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Deposits & withdrawals
ZEN Card
Triple A Technologies Pte Ltd, Coreline Solutions LLC
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
ZEN Card
43
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
ZEN Card
Oct 7, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

ZEN Card is the stronger all-round choice

ZEN Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 77 versus 70 for Uphold Card US. ZEN Card has the lower published FX fee (0–0.5% vs 0–1.5%). Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Uphold Card US still comes out ahead for Cashback, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. ZEN Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

ZEN Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full ZEN Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

ZEN vs Uphold US FAQ

Is ZEN or Uphold US better overall?

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score (77 vs 70). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, ZEN or Uphold US?

ZEN Card has the lower published FX fee (0–0.5% vs 0–1.5%). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, ZEN or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do ZEN and Uphold US differ on custody?

ZEN Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this ZEN vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 56 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace