Side-by-side card comparison

ZEN vs Xapo: overall score versus use-case fit

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score by 7 points (77 vs 70). ZEN Card looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, and Lowest fees, while Xapo Card comes out ahead for Transfers.

Information checked Sep 1, 202664 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

ZEN Card is the better all-round starting point

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Xapo Card may be the better fit for Transfers. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallZEN77Xapo70Higher score
CashbackZEN39Xapo24Higher score
TravelZEN96Xapo91Higher score
Funds controlZEN65Xapo63Higher score
Lowest feesZEN80Xapo77Higher score
TransfersZEN98Xapo100Higher score

Choose ZEN Card if cashback and travel matter most

ZEN Card comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, and Lowest fees in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Free plan with 0.5% weekday FX margin
  • Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
  • Four current crypto-route assets

Choose Xapo Card if transfers matters most

Xapo Card comes out ahead for Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • No Xapo FX markup
  • Account-backed bank and crypto rails

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
ZEN77
Xapo70

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score by 7 points.

Entry cost & FX
ZEN$0 plan · 0–0.5% FX
Xapo$1,000/year plan · 0–0.29% FX

ZEN Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year).

Purchase rewards
ZEN0% base
Xapo0% base · up to 3%

Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 0%.

Funds control
ZENCustodial balance
XapoCustodial balance

ZEN Card and Xapo Card use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
ZENVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
XapoVirtual + Physical · Unknown

ZEN Card lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 2).

Money movement
ZEN2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; Card-to-card transfer; SEPA transfers
Xapo2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; SWIFT payout, SEPA payout, Faster Payments payout, ACH payout

Xapo Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (8 vs 5).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0% base
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–0.5%
ATM fee
0–1.5%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
4 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
4 crypto · 1 fiat
Cashback
0%-3%
Plan cost
$1,000/year
FX fee
0–0.29%
ATM fee
0–2%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Not disclosed
Receive methods
3 crypto · 4 fiat
Payout methods
3 crypto · 3 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
ZEN CardOverall77
Xapo CardOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
ZEN Card
77
Xapo Card
70
Cashback score
ZEN Card
39
Xapo Card
24
Travel score
ZEN Card
96
Xapo Card
91
Funds control score
ZEN Card
65
Xapo Card
63
Lowest fees score
ZEN Card
80
Xapo Card
77
Transfers score
ZEN Card
98
Xapo Card
100
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
ZEN Card
Free plan with 0.5% weekday FX margin, Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
Xapo Card
No Xapo FX markup, Account-backed bank and crypto rails
Trade-offs
ZEN Card
Free-plan ATM withdrawals cost 1.5%, No universal public cashback rate
Xapo Card
$1,000 annual membership, Cashback is temporary and capped ambiguously
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
ZEN Card
$0
Xapo Card
$1,000/year
FX fee
ZEN Card
0–0.5%
Xapo Card
0–0.29%
Top-up fee
ZEN Card
0–3%
Xapo Card
No direct card top-up; the Xapo Account balance funds card spending
Card spending fee
ZEN Card
0%
Xapo Card
0%
ATM fee
ZEN Card
0–1.5%
Xapo Card
0–2%
Virtual card
ZEN Card
Free/Gold: 1 included; Platinum/Pro: 3 included; next card €5
Xapo Card
$0 in the Visa Europe programme; outside-Europe pricing not disclosed
Physical card
ZEN Card
Free first card €10; Gold 1 included; Platinum/Pro 2 included; next card €10
Xapo Card
$0 for Metal; $0 for standard physical Visa Europe; other standard pricing not disclosed
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
ZEN Card
4 plans: Free, Gold, Platinum, Pro
Xapo Card
1 plans: Xapo Bank membership
Top cashback plan
ZEN Card
Free: 0%
Xapo Card
Xapo Bank membership: 0%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
ZEN Card
Mastercard/Visa
Xapo Card
Visa/Mastercard
Card formats
ZEN Card
Virtual, Physical
Xapo Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
ZEN Card
Available
Xapo Card
Available
Mobile wallets
ZEN Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Apps
ZEN Card
iOS, Android, Web
Xapo Card
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
ZEN Card
Standard €10,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Xapo Card
$50,000 daily for point-of-sale and online purchases
Monthly spending limit
ZEN Card
Not publicly confirmed
Xapo Card
$250,000 monthly under the Visa Europe programme
ATM limit
ZEN Card
Standard €2,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Xapo Card
$2,000 daily; Visa Europe also lists $15,000 monthly
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Xapo Card
Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, Tron, Solana
Crypto deposits
ZEN Card
Stablecoins: USDT, USDC; Other crypto: BTC, ETH
Xapo Card
Stablecoins: USDC, USDT; Other crypto: BTC
Fiat deposits
ZEN Card
SEPA bank transfer, Payment-card top-up
Xapo Card
SWIFT receive, ACH receive, SEPA receive, Faster Payments receive
Transfers
ZEN Card
Stablecoin transfers; Card-to-card transfer; SEPA transfers
Xapo Card
Stablecoin transfers; SWIFT payout, SEPA payout, Faster Payments payout, ACH payout
Payout currencies
ZEN Card
EUR
Xapo Card
USD, GBP, EUR
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
ZEN Card
0%
Xapo Card
0%
Max cashback
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Xapo Card
3%
Reward currency
ZEN Card
Transaction currency
Xapo Card
BTC
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
ZEN Card
Not offered
Xapo Card
Up to 3.35% APY
How it works
ZEN Card
Not offered
Xapo Card
Earn on spending balance
Separate deposit
ZEN Card
Not offered
Xapo Card
No
Use balance for spending
ZEN Card
Not offered
Xapo Card
Yes
Lock-up
ZEN Card
Not offered
Xapo Card
No
09

Trust & availability

5 fields
Custody
ZEN Card
Custodial
Xapo Card
Custodial
Control until payment
ZEN Card
Provider controls funds
Xapo Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
ZEN Card
UAB ZEN.COM
Xapo Card
Transact Payments Malta Limited
Deposits & withdrawals
ZEN Card
Triple A Technologies Pte Ltd, Coreline Solutions LLC
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Bank transfers
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Xapo Card
Xapo Bank Limited
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
ZEN Card
43
Xapo Card
21
Last reviewed
ZEN Card
Aug 23, 2026
Xapo Card
Sep 1, 2026

04 · The trade-off

ZEN Card is the stronger all-round choice

ZEN Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 77 versus 70 for Xapo Card. ZEN Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year). Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 0%.

Xapo Card still comes out ahead for Transfers, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. ZEN Card and Xapo Card use the same custodial balance setup.

Xapo Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (8 vs 5). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full ZEN Card and Xapo Card reviews first.

05 · Common questions

ZEN vs Xapo FAQ

Is ZEN or Xapo better overall?

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score (77 vs 70). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, ZEN or Xapo?

ZEN Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, ZEN or Xapo?

Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 0%. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do ZEN and Xapo differ on custody?

ZEN Card and Xapo Card use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this ZEN vs Xapo comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was September 1, 2026, using 64 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace