Main strengths
- Xapo lists no product FX markup for card payments in supported currencies.
- The selected USD or BTC account balance funds card payments and withdrawals.
- Bank, Bitcoin and stablecoin routes feed the same custodial spending account.
Stablecoin account + Visa/Mastercard card
Xapo Card is a custodial Visa or Mastercard debit card that spends the selected USD or BTC balance in a Xapo Account. Membership costs $1,000 per year; Xapo lists no card-payment or product FX markup, while Bitcoin card spending uses a current variable 0.29% spread.
Main strengths
Main trade-offs
01 · Core economics
Xapo Card combines $1,000/year entry with 0% listed provider FX and ATM access. Allowances, overage charges and third-party costs still depend on the current programme.
02 · Category rewards
Xapo has no ongoing general purchase cashback. The current 3% BTC campaign applies only to eligible taxi and ride-hailing purchases made with an active Metal card through September 30, 2026; the cap is not published.
No general purchase cashback is currently offered
Current promotional maximum; not guaranteed permanently
BTC
No public taxi campaign cap was found
Current rate schedule
The rate follows the eligible payment category or route rather than a membership tier. 3% applies only to Taxi, limousine, ride-hailing and private hire. Category-specific eligible-spend caps are not disclosed; any programme-wide cashback-value cap is shown in the summary.
Requires an active Xapo Metal card; merchant classification controls eligibility.
Eligible spend cap not disclosedCashback is credited fifth day of the following month in BTC. Merchant coding, programme exclusions, reversals and clawbacks still apply.
03 · Everyday use
See the available card formats, phone wallets and account rails, plus any channels that are still being confirmed.
04 · Money in and out
The card uses the provider account balance. Account funding and withdrawal routes are included only when they feed that same card-linked account; they are not presented as direct card top-ups.
1 route
Ethereum, Solana, Tron
Via provider account
BTC: Bitcoin, Lightning · USDC: Ethereum, Solana · USDT: Ethereum, Tron
Supported asset and network combinations
Lightning: $1,000 per transfer and $5,000 per rolling 24 hours · No single public receive limit
Provider-account route; the same BTC balance can fund card spending. · Provider-account receive route; network matching is required.
4 routes
Via provider account
Provider-account route; intermediary charges may still apply.
Not publicly confirmed
Via provider account
Provider-account route available under the applicable account programme.
Not publicly confirmed
Via provider account
Provider-account route available under the applicable account programme.
Not publicly confirmed
Via provider account
Provider-account route available under the applicable account programme.
Not publicly confirmed
Funds sit in a custodial account balance before card spend or payout.
All listed receive methods credit the Xapo provider account.
2 routes
Via provider account
BTC: Bitcoin, Lightning
Lightning network from the Xapo provider account
$1,000 per transfer; $5,000 per rolling 24 hours
Via provider account
Supported provider-account stablecoin payout routes
Variable blockchain network fee; provider spread may vary
Outbound networks are not published in the reviewed source set.
4 routes
Via provider account
Eligible Xapo provider-account currencies and destinations
Intermediary and recipient-bank fees may still apply.
Via provider account
Eligible European provider-account transfers
Availability follows the applicable account programme.
Via provider account
Eligible United Kingdom provider-account transfers
Availability follows the applicable account programme.
Via provider account
Eligible United States dollar provider-account transfers
Availability follows the applicable account programme.
05 · Balance yield
The eligible balance can earn a variable rate while remaining available for card spend and transfers.
Up to 3.4% APY
Up to 0.3% APY
06 · Trust and eligibility
See current signup reach, identity checks and the organisations behind the card.
Identity verification is required to access card services.
Known restrictions are listed, but a complete allowed-country list is not available.
The named organisations and their current roles are listed below.
Provides the product and account experience. Named legal operators appear separately.
Controls settlement until payment.
Custodial accountBank account, card programme and custody services
Jurisdiction: Gibraltar · Applies to: Xapo Bank membership and regional card programmesVisa Europe card issuance
Jurisdiction: Malta · Applies to: Visa Europe programme07 · Methodology
The score combines practical costs, rewards, daily usability, funding and transfers, eligibility, custody, and the provider stack.
Missing or undisclosed fields receive no positive credit.
Higher is better
Named programme infrastructure includes Xapo Bank Limited (banking), Transact Payments Malta Limited (issuer) and Visa and Mastercard (network).
$83.33/month, 0% FX fee and 0.3% conversion fee shape the day-to-day cost profile.
No general base cashback; 3% applies only to Taxi, limousine, ride-hailing and private hire and is paid in BTC.
08 · Evidence
We check every published fact and value against official product, fee, membership and legal information covering costs, eligibility, rewards and custody.
09 · Card comparison
A side-by-side look at cards built around stablecoin funding, everyday card access and money movement.

The selected USD or BTC account balance funds card payments and withdrawals.

Crypto stays user-controlled until it is converted into the EUR card balance.
Compare up to four cards in detail across fees, rewards, everyday use, money movement, custody and more.
Help keep this page accurate
Tell us what changed and, if possible, include an official source. We review corrections before updating public card facts.