Side-by-side card comparison

Coinbase One vs Decaf

Decaf Card has the higher Overall Score by 8 points (64 vs 56). Coinbase One Card looks stronger for Cashback, while Decaf Card comes out ahead for Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers.

Latest check Oct 19, 202644 official sources reviewed

Coinbase One Card

Best fit

  • Existing Coinbase One members who already pay for an eligible plan.
  • Everyday credit-card spending with 2% back in BTC on eligible purchases.
  • Booking through Coinbase One Card Travel for 5% back in BTC.

Before you choose

  • Eligible membership starts at $49.99/year; Basic monthly does not qualify.
  • 4% needs $200,000 on Coinbase; boosted rates cover $10,000/month of spend.
  • U.S. residents only, excluding territories; credit approval is required.

Decaf Card

Best fit

  • Spending USDC received on Solana or Stellar through a separate card load.
  • Using the virtual Visa for Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases.
  • Receiving bank payments as USDC before allocating funds to the card.

Before you choose

  • Virtual issuance costs $5; physical cards cost $10–$90 by region.
  • US international fees are 1%; the non-USD international FX ceiling is 2%.
  • Card collateral can be liquidated; US withdrawals require prior notice.

Fees & features

Compare the details

Best markers compare published, comparable values. Unknown values never win a row.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Coinbase One CardOverall56
Decaf CardOverall64
01

Scores

Overall Score
Coinbase One Card
56
Decaf Card
64
Cashback score
Coinbase One Card
40
Decaf Card
29
Travel score
Coinbase One Card
60
Decaf Card
60
Funds control score
Coinbase One Card
36
Decaf Card
63
Lowest fees score
Coinbase One Card
40
Decaf Card
57
Transfers score
Coinbase One Card
24
Decaf Card
70
02

Costs

Plan cost
Coinbase One Card
$49.99/year
Decaf Card
$0
FX fee
Coinbase One Card
0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate
Decaf Card
1–2%
Top-up fee
Coinbase One Card
Linked U.S. bank or accepted Coinbase wallet repayment; crypto spread varies
Decaf Card
Card-load fee unknown; parent-account bank deposits have separate charges
Card spending fee
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Coinbase One Card
Cash advance: greater of $10 or 5%, plus variable interest from posting and possible ATM-operator fees
Decaf Card
0% Decaf markup
Virtual card
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
$5
Physical card
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
$90 international / $10 US
03

Plans

Available plans
Coinbase One Card
4 plans: AOC tier 1: 2%, AOC tier 2: 2.5%, AOC tier 3: 3%, AOC tier 4: 4%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Top cashback plan
Coinbase One Card
AOC tier 4: 4%: 4%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
04

Everyday use

Network
Coinbase One Card
American Express
Decaf Card
Visa
Card formats
Coinbase One Card
Virtual, Physical
Decaf Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Mobile wallets
Coinbase One Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Decaf Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Coinbase One Card
iOS, Android, Web
Decaf Card
iOS, Android, Web
Daily spending limit
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable daily spend ceiling
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Monthly spending limit
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable monthly spend ceiling
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM limit
Coinbase One Card
Cash access and its sublimit are determined by the issuer
Decaf Card
$250 per withdrawal; up to 3 withdrawals daily
05

Funding & transfers

Networks
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Solana, Stellar
Crypto deposits
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Stablecoins: USDC
Fiat deposits
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
USD, EUR and MXN account receipts
Transfers
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Parent-account bank withdrawals, MoneyGram cash pickup
Payout currencies
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
USD, EUR, MXN, COP, BRL, ARS, VES
06

Rewards

Base cashback
Coinbase One Card
2%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Max cashback
Coinbase One Card
4%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Reward currency
Coinbase One Card
Bitcoin
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
07

Earn

Advertised APY
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
How it works
Coinbase One Card
Borrow against collateral
Decaf Card
Optional earn vault
Separate deposit
Coinbase One Card
No
Decaf Card
Yes
Use balance for spending
Coinbase One Card
No
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Lock-up
Coinbase One Card
Yes
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
08

Trust & availability

Custody
Coinbase One Card
Custodial
Decaf Card
Non-custodial
Control until payment
Coinbase One Card
Provider controls funds
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Card issuer
Coinbase One Card
First Electronic Bank
Decaf Card
Third National, Inc.
Card processing
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Rain
Custody / key management
Coinbase One Card
Coinbase, Inc.
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Deposits & withdrawals
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
MoneyGram
09

Sources

Official sources
Coinbase One Card
23
Decaf Card
21
Last reviewed
Coinbase One Card
Oct 11, 2026
Decaf Card
Oct 19, 2026

Choosing between these cards

When to choose Coinbase One or Decaf

Keeping recurring costs down

Decaf's base plan is $0, compared with $49.99/year for Coinbase One. This favours Decaf for occasional use; card issuance and transaction fees are separate.

Spending in foreign currencies

For FX on foreign-currency purchases, Coinbase One lists 0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate, versus 1–2% at Decaf. Use the tariff for your country and plan; conversion fees can add to these figures.

Common questions

Coinbase One vs Decaf FAQ

Is Coinbase One or Decaf better overall?

Decaf Card has the higher Overall Score (64 vs 56). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Coinbase One or Decaf?

Decaf Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $49.99/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Coinbase One or Decaf?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Coinbase One and Decaf differ on custody?

Coinbase One Card uses a custodial balance setup, while Decaf Card uses a non-custodial account setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Coinbase One vs Decaf comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 19, 2026, using 44 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

More comparisons

Open the comparison workspace