Side-by-side card comparison

Coinbase vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 6 points (70 vs 64). Coinbase Card looks stronger for Funds control and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees.

Information checked Oct 14, 202635 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US is the better all-round starting point

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Coinbase Card may be the better fit for Funds control and Transfers. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallCoinbase64Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackCoinbase36Uphold US75Higher score
TravelCoinbase61Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlCoinbase48Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesCoinbase55Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersCoinbase84Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Coinbase Card if funds control and transfers matter most

Coinbase Card comes out ahead for Funds control and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use
  • The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
  • Cash, USDC and supported crypto can fund the same card flow

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback and travel matter most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
Coinbase64
Uphold US70

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 6 points.

Entry cost & FX
Coinbase$0 plan · U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option.

Purchase rewards
CoinbaseNot disclosed
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below.

Funds control
CoinbaseCustodial balance
Uphold USCustodial balance

Coinbase Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
CoinbaseVirtual + Physical · Unknown
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Uphold Card US lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 2).

Money movement
Coinbase1 stablecoin · Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Coinbase Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (4 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
Not disclosed
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
ATM fee
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Not disclosed
Receive methods
1 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 3 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Coinbase CardOverall64
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Coinbase Card
64
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Coinbase Card
36
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Coinbase Card
61
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Coinbase Card
48
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Coinbase Card
55
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Coinbase Card
84
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Coinbase Card
Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use, The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Coinbase Card
Crypto conversion includes a spread with no stable public rate, Rewards are U.S.-only and the current rate changes in the app
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Coinbase Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Coinbase Card
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Coinbase Card
Linked-bank and payroll funding are marketed at $0; other Coinbase account funding routes were not reviewed for this card profile
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Coinbase Card
0%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Coinbase Card
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Coinbase Card
Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Coinbase Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Coinbase Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Coinbase Card
iOS, Android
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Coinbase Card
$2,500 per 24 hours in the U.S. programme
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Coinbase Card
U.S. monthly spend limit not published; U.K./EEA limits are customer-specific
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Coinbase Card
$1,000 per 24 hours in the U.S.; U.K./EEA values are shown in app
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Coinbase Card
Coinbase-supported networks
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Coinbase Card
Other crypto: Supported crypto
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Coinbase Card
Linked bank account, Payroll deposit
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Coinbase Card
Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Coinbase Card
USD, GBP, EUR
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Coinbase Card
Selected crypto offer
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

5 fields
Custody
Coinbase Card
Custodial
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Coinbase Card
Provider controls funds
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Coinbase Card
Pathward, N.A., Paysafe Financial Services Limited, Paysafe Payment Solutions Limited
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Card processing
Coinbase Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Coinbase Card
22
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Coinbase Card
Aug 30, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Uphold Card US is the stronger all-round choice

Uphold Card US finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 70 versus 64 for Coinbase Card. The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below.

Coinbase Card still comes out ahead for Funds control and Transfers, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. Coinbase Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Coinbase Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (4 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Coinbase Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Coinbase vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Coinbase or Uphold US better overall?

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score (70 vs 64). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Coinbase or Uphold US?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Coinbase or Uphold US?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Coinbase and Uphold US differ on custody?

Coinbase Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this Coinbase vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 35 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace