Side-by-side card comparison

Fold Debit vs Decaf

Fold Debit Card has the higher Overall Score by 9 points (73 vs 64). Fold Debit Card looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, Lowest fees, and Transfers, while Decaf Card comes out ahead for Funds control.

Latest check Oct 19, 202650 official sources reviewed

Fold Debit Card

Best fit

  • U.S. users funding a prepaid USD card through ACH or direct deposit.
  • Reserve-enabled accounts earning 0.25% BTC without buying Reserve value.
  • Paying everyday purchases and eligible ACH bills from the same USD account.

Before you choose

  • Reserve is stored value, not a bank deposit, and is generally not cash-redeemable.
  • Boosted debit rewards cover $5,000/month and exclude Fold credit-card holders.
  • Fees and rewards depend on whether your account has moved to Reserve.

Decaf Card

Best fit

  • Spending USDC received on Solana or Stellar through a separate card load.
  • Using the virtual Visa for Apple Pay and Google Pay purchases.
  • Receiving bank payments as USDC before allocating funds to the card.

Before you choose

  • Virtual issuance costs $5; physical cards cost $10–$90 by region.
  • US international fees are 1%; the non-USD international FX ceiling is 2%.
  • Card collateral can be liquidated; US withdrawals require prior notice.

Fees & features

Compare the details

Best markers compare published, comparable values. Unknown values never win a row.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Fold Debit CardOverall73
Decaf CardOverall64
01

Scores

Overall Score
Fold Debit Card
73
Decaf Card
64
Cashback score
Fold Debit Card
45
Decaf Card
29
Travel score
Fold Debit Card
78
Decaf Card
60
Funds control score
Fold Debit Card
59
Decaf Card
63
Lowest fees score
Fold Debit Card
72
Decaf Card
57
Transfers score
Fold Debit Card
78
Decaf Card
70
02

Costs

Plan cost
Fold Debit Card
$0
Decaf Card
$0
FX fee
Fold Debit Card
$3 fixed foreign-purchase fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; Visa conversion separate
Decaf Card
1–2%
Top-up fee
Fold Debit Card
Instant debit funding costs 1.5%, capped at $25; ACH and direct-deposit routes are separate
Decaf Card
Card-load fee unknown; parent-account bank deposits have separate charges
Card spending fee
Fold Debit Card
0%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Fold Debit Card
$3.50 Fold fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; operator fees separate
Decaf Card
0% Decaf markup
Virtual card
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
$5
Physical card
Fold Debit Card
$0 card purchase fee
Decaf Card
$90 international / $10 US
03

Plans

Available plans
Fold Debit Card
9 plans: Fold (legacy), Fold+ (legacy), Reserve base, Reserve $5,000 +5
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Top cashback plan
Fold Debit Card
Reserve $100,000: 3%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
04

Everyday use

Network
Fold Debit Card
Visa
Decaf Card
Visa
Card formats
Fold Debit Card
Virtual, Physical
Decaf Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Fold Debit Card
Available
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Mobile wallets
Fold Debit Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Decaf Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Fold Debit Card
iOS, Android
Decaf Card
iOS, Android, Web
Daily spending limit
Fold Debit Card
$15,000 per transaction and per day
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Monthly spending limit
Fold Debit Card
$50,000 per month
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
ATM limit
Fold Debit Card
$250 per withdrawal; $1,000 daily and monthly
Decaf Card
$250 per withdrawal; up to 3 withdrawals daily
05

Funding & transfers

Networks
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Solana, Stellar
Crypto deposits
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
Stablecoins: USDC
Fiat deposits
Fold Debit Card
Linked-bank ACH, Direct deposit, Instant debit-card funding
Decaf Card
USD, EUR and MXN account receipts
Transfers
Fold Debit Card
ACH withdrawal, Instant debit-card withdrawal, ATM withdrawal, ACH bill pay
Decaf Card
Parent-account bank withdrawals, MoneyGram cash pickup
Payout currencies
Fold Debit Card
USD, USD cash equivalent
Decaf Card
USD, EUR, MXN, COP, BRL, ARS, VES
06

Rewards

Base cashback
Fold Debit Card
0%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Max cashback
Fold Debit Card
15%
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Reward currency
Fold Debit Card
Bitcoin
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
07

Earn

Advertised APY
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
How it works
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Optional earn vault
Separate deposit
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Yes
Use balance for spending
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Lock-up
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
08

Trust & availability

Custody
Fold Debit Card
Custodial
Decaf Card
Non-custodial
Control until payment
Fold Debit Card
Provider controls funds
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Card issuer
Fold Debit Card
Sutton Bank
Decaf Card
Third National, Inc.
Card processing
Fold Debit Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Decaf Card
Rain
Custody / key management
Fold Debit Card
BitGo Bank and Trust, N.A. / BitGo Prime LLC
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
Deposits & withdrawals
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Decaf Card
MoneyGram
Bank transfers
Fold Debit Card
Plaid Inc., Astra, Inc.
Decaf Card
Not disclosed
09

Sources

Official sources
Fold Debit Card
29
Decaf Card
21
Last reviewed
Fold Debit Card
Oct 14, 2026
Decaf Card
Oct 19, 2026

Choosing between these cards

When to choose Fold Debit or Decaf

Sending money to a bank

For bank payouts, Fold Debit has reviewed routes in USD, USD cash equivalent; Decaf has routes in ARS, BRL, COP, EUR and other currencies. Choose the route for your destination currency and check its country coverage and fee.

Matching the card to your plans

Fold Debit: U.S. users funding a prepaid USD card through ACH or direct deposit. Decaf: Spending USDC received on Solana or Stellar through a separate card load.

Common questions

Fold Debit vs Decaf FAQ

Is Fold Debit or Decaf better overall?

Fold Debit Card has the higher Overall Score (73 vs 64). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Fold Debit or Decaf?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Fold Debit or Decaf?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Fold Debit and Decaf differ on custody?

Fold Debit Card uses a custodial balance setup, while Decaf Card uses a non-custodial account setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Fold Debit vs Decaf comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 19, 2026, using 50 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

More comparisons

Open the comparison workspace