Gnosis Pay vs Fold Debit: where the score gap comes from
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Scores below describe the reviewed card terms, not availability for a new application.
Information checked Oct 6, 202646 official sources reviewed
This comparison remains available for existing cardholders. Gnosis Pay is excluded from our recommendations during its wind-down. Review Rebind for the EUR migration route and check the other card's current eligibility independently.
OverallGnosis Pay77Fold Debit72Higher score
CashbackGnosis Pay22Fold Debit44Compare the details below
TravelGnosis Pay100Fold Debit78Compare the details below
Funds controlGnosis Pay90Fold Debit59Compare the details below
Lowest feesGnosis Pay87Fold Debit71Compare the details below
TransfersGnosis Pay91Fold Debit77Compare the details below
Gnosis Pay: existing-card reference
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.
Choose Fold Debit Card if its day-to-day setup suits you
Fold Debit Card does not lead one of the use-case scores here, but it can still be the right choice when its costs, rewards and day-to-day setup match how you plan to use it. Read the side-by-side details before deciding.
The higher score is only the start. The rows below show which product differences create it.
Overall Score
Gnosis Pay77
Fold Debit72
Gnosis Pay has the higher Overall Score by 5 points.
Entry cost & FX
Gnosis Pay$0 plan · 0% FX
Fold Debit$0 plan · $3 fixed foreign-purchase fee; waived at $5,000 Reserve or under legacy Fold+; Visa conversion separate FX
The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option.
Purchase rewards
Gnosis Pay0% base · up to 5%
Fold Debit0% base · up to 15%
Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 0%.
Funds control
Gnosis PaySelf-controlled wallet
Fold DebitCustodial balance
Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Fold Debit Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.
Everyday access
Gnosis PayVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Fold DebitVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.
Linked-bank ACH, Direct deposit, Instant debit-card funding
Transfers
Gnosis Pay
Stablecoin transfers; IBAN outbound
Fold Debit Card
ACH withdrawal, Instant debit-card withdrawal, ATM withdrawal, ACH bill pay
Payout currencies
Gnosis Pay
EURe
Fold Debit Card
USD, USD cash equivalent
07
Rewards
3 fields
Base cashback
Gnosis Pay
0%
Fold Debit Card
0%
Max cashback
Gnosis Pay
5%
Fold Debit Card
15%
Reward currency
Gnosis Pay
GNO cashback
Fold Debit Card
Bitcoin
08
Earn
5 fields
Advertised APY
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
How it works
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Separate deposit
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
Lock-up
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Fold Debit Card
Not offered
09
Trust & availability
8 fields
Custody
Gnosis Pay
Self-custody
Fold Debit Card
Custodial
Control until payment
Gnosis Pay
You keep control
Fold Debit Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Gnosis Pay
Monavate
Fold Debit Card
Sutton Bank
Card processing
Gnosis Pay
Paymentology
Fold Debit Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Custody / key management
Gnosis Pay
Safe{Wallet}
Fold Debit Card
BitGo Bank and Trust, N.A. / BitGo Prime LLC
Bank transfers
Gnosis Pay
Monerium
Fold Debit Card
Plaid Inc., Astra, Inc.
Identity verification
Gnosis Pay
Sumsub
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
Programme operator
Gnosis Pay
Gnosis Pay
Fold Debit Card
Not disclosed
10
Sources
2 fields
Official sources
Gnosis Pay
17
Fold Debit Card
29
Last reviewed
Gnosis Pay
Sep 6, 2026
Fold Debit Card
Oct 6, 2026
04 · The verdict
Plan around the Gnosis Pay wind-down
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.
An Overall Score does not extend a card's service life. Existing users can review the recorded costs below, but new applicants should consider a live programme and confirm its country eligibility.
Read the Gnosis transition notice and our Rebind profile before migrating.
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Gnosis Pay is not a current recommendation, regardless of its numerical score.
Which has lower fees, Gnosis Pay or Fold Debit?
The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.
Which has better cashback, Gnosis Pay or Fold Debit?
Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 0%. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.
How do Gnosis Pay and Fold Debit differ on custody?
Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Fold Debit Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.
How current is this Gnosis Pay vs Fold Debit comparison?
The latest information check for these two cards was October 6, 2026, using 46 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.
06 · Test the winner
Related direct comparisons
Put the leading card against another close alternative, or choose a new pair yourself.