Gnosis Pay vs Xapo: where the score gap comes from
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Scores below describe the reviewed card terms, not availability for a new application.
Information checked Sep 6, 202638 official sources reviewed
This comparison remains available for existing cardholders. Gnosis Pay is excluded from our recommendations during its wind-down. Review Rebind for the EUR migration route and check the other card's current eligibility independently.
OverallGnosis Pay77Xapo70Higher score
CashbackGnosis Pay22Xapo24Compare the details below
TravelGnosis Pay100Xapo91Compare the details below
Funds controlGnosis Pay90Xapo64Compare the details below
Lowest feesGnosis Pay87Xapo78Compare the details below
TransfersGnosis Pay91Xapo100Compare the details below
Gnosis Pay: existing-card reference
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.
Choose Xapo Card if its day-to-day setup suits you
Xapo Card does not lead one of the use-case scores here, but it can still be the right choice when its costs, rewards and day-to-day setup match how you plan to use it. Read the side-by-side details before deciding.
The higher score is only the start. The rows below show which product differences create it.
Overall Score
Gnosis Pay77
Xapo70
Gnosis Pay has the higher Overall Score by 7 points.
Entry cost & FX
Gnosis Pay$0 plan · 0% FX
Xapo$1,000/year plan · 0–0.29% FX
Gnosis Pay has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year).
Purchase rewards
Gnosis Pay0% base · up to 5%
Xapo0% base · up to 3%
Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 0%.
Funds control
Gnosis PaySelf-controlled wallet
XapoCustodial balance
Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Xapo Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.
Everyday access
Gnosis PayVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
XapoVirtual + Physical · Unknown
Gnosis Pay lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 2).
$2,000 daily; Visa Europe also lists $15,000 monthly
06
Funding & transfers
5 fields
Networks
Gnosis Pay
Gnosis Chain
Xapo Card
Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, Tron, Solana
Crypto deposits
Gnosis Pay
Stablecoins: EURe, GBPe, USDCe
Xapo Card
Stablecoins: USDC, USDT; Other crypto: BTC
Fiat deposits
Gnosis Pay
Receive-only SEPA IBAN
Xapo Card
SWIFT receive, ACH receive, SEPA receive, Faster Payments receive
Transfers
Gnosis Pay
Stablecoin transfers; IBAN outbound
Xapo Card
Stablecoin transfers; SWIFT payout, SEPA payout, Faster Payments payout, ACH payout
Payout currencies
Gnosis Pay
EURe
Xapo Card
USD, GBP, EUR
07
Rewards
3 fields
Base cashback
Gnosis Pay
0%
Xapo Card
0%
Max cashback
Gnosis Pay
5%
Xapo Card
3%
Reward currency
Gnosis Pay
GNO cashback
Xapo Card
BTC
08
Earn
5 fields
Advertised APY
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Xapo Card
Up to 3.35% APY
How it works
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Xapo Card
Earn on spending balance
Separate deposit
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Xapo Card
No
Use balance for spending
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Xapo Card
Yes
Lock-up
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Xapo Card
No
09
Trust & availability
8 fields
Custody
Gnosis Pay
Self-custody
Xapo Card
Custodial
Control until payment
Gnosis Pay
You keep control
Xapo Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Gnosis Pay
Monavate
Xapo Card
Transact Payments Malta Limited
Card processing
Gnosis Pay
Paymentology
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Gnosis Pay
Safe{Wallet}
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Bank transfers
Gnosis Pay
Monerium
Xapo Card
Xapo Bank Limited
Identity verification
Gnosis Pay
Sumsub
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Programme operator
Gnosis Pay
Gnosis Pay
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
10
Sources
2 fields
Official sources
Gnosis Pay
17
Xapo Card
21
Last reviewed
Gnosis Pay
Sep 6, 2026
Xapo Card
Sep 1, 2026
04 · The verdict
Plan around the Gnosis Pay wind-down
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.
An Overall Score does not extend a card's service life. Existing users can review the recorded costs below, but new applicants should consider a live programme and confirm its country eligibility.
Read the Gnosis transition notice and our Rebind profile before migrating.
Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Gnosis Pay is not a current recommendation, regardless of its numerical score.
Which has lower fees, Gnosis Pay or Xapo?
Gnosis Pay has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.
Which has better cashback, Gnosis Pay or Xapo?
Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 0%. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.
How do Gnosis Pay and Xapo differ on custody?
Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Xapo Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.
How current is this Gnosis Pay vs Xapo comparison?
The latest information check for these two cards was September 6, 2026, using 38 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.
06 · Test the winner
Related direct comparisons
Put the leading card against another close alternative, or choose a new pair yourself.