Side-by-side card comparison

Krak vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

Krak Card has the higher Overall Score by 4 points (74 vs 70). Krak Card looks stronger for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback.

Information checked Oct 16, 202639 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Krak Card is the better all-round starting point

Krak Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Uphold Card US may be the better fit for Cashback. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallKrak74Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackKrak41Uphold US75Higher score
TravelKrak83Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlKrak56Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesKrak72Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersKrak97Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Krak Card if travel and funds control matter most

Krak Card comes out ahead for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • No monthly fee; regional FX is 0–1%
  • Both card formats and phone wallets
  • Automatic cashback up to 2%

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback matters most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
Krak74
Uphold US70

Krak Card has the higher Overall Score by 4 points.

Entry cost & FX
Krak$0 plan · 0–1% FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

Krak Card has the lower published FX fee (0–1% vs 0–1.5%).

Purchase rewards
Krak0% base · up to 2%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Funds control
KrakCustodial balance
Uphold USCustodial balance

Krak Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
KrakVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
Krak0 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; Krak internal send, Krak ↔ Kraken balance transfer; GBP Faster Payments, EUR SEPA
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Krak Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0%-2%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1%
ATM fee
0% Krak fee; ATM operator may charge
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
1 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 2 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Krak CardOverall74
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Krak Card
74
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Krak Card
41
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Krak Card
83
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Krak Card
56
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Krak Card
72
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Krak Card
97
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Krak Card
No monthly fee; regional FX is 0–1%, Both card formats and phone wallets
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Krak Card
Crypto conversion spread is variable, The 2% tier needs a large balance
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Krak Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Krak Card
0–1%
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Krak Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Krak Card
0%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Krak Card
0% Krak fee; ATM operator may charge
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Krak Card
Free
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Krak Card
Plastic £0/€0/$0. UK/EEA metal threshold £/€50,000; US metal threshold conflicts between $50,000 pricing and a $75,000 announcement. Confirm eligibility in app.
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Krak Card
10 plans: Starter, Lite, Pro, Elite +6
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Krak Card
Max: 2%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Krak Card
Mastercard/Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Krak Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Krak Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Krak Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Krak Card
iOS, Android
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Krak Card
UK: £22,000/day; EEA: €12,000/day; US: $12,000/day
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Krak Card
UK: £22,000/month; EEA: €12,000/month; US: $22,000/month
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Krak Card
UK: £250/withdrawal, £750/day, £4,000/month; EEA: €300/withdrawal, €900/day, €4,800/month; US: $250/withdrawal, $1,000/day, $5,000/month
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Krak Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Krak Card
Other crypto: Supported crypto
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Krak Card
GBP bank transfer, EUR bank transfer, USD bank transfer
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Krak Card
Stablecoin transfers; Krak internal send, Krak ↔ Kraken balance transfer; GBP Faster Payments, EUR SEPA
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Krak Card
GBP, EUR
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Krak Card
0%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Krak Card
2%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Krak Card
GBP, EUR, USD or BTC
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Krak Card
Up to 3.6% APY
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Krak Card
Optional earn vault
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Krak Card
Yes
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Krak Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Krak Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

6 fields
Custody
Krak Card
Custodial
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Krak Card
Provider controls funds
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Krak Card
Monavate Limited, Lead Bank, UAB Monavate
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Card processing
Krak Card
Stripe
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Krak Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Programme operator
Krak Card
Payward Wallet, Inc.
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Krak Card
26
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Krak Card
Oct 16, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Krak Card is the stronger all-round choice

Krak Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 74 versus 70 for Uphold Card US. Krak Card has the lower published FX fee (0–1% vs 0–1.5%). Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Uphold Card US still comes out ahead for Cashback, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. Krak Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Krak Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Krak Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Krak vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Krak or Uphold US better overall?

Krak Card has the higher Overall Score (74 vs 70). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Krak or Uphold US?

Krak Card has the lower published FX fee (0–1% vs 0–1.5%). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Krak or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Krak and Uphold US differ on custody?

Krak Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this Krak vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 16, 2026, using 39 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace