Side-by-side card comparison

Plasma One vs Xapo: overall score versus use-case fit

Plasma One Card has the higher Overall Score by 17 points (87 vs 70). Plasma One Card looks stronger for Cashback, Funds control, and Lowest fees, while Xapo Card comes out ahead for Travel.

Information checked Sep 1, 202633 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Plasma One Card is the better all-round starting point

Plasma One Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Xapo Card may be the better fit for Travel. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallPlasma One87Xapo70Higher score
CashbackPlasma One78Xapo24Higher score
TravelPlasma One72Xapo91Higher score
Funds controlPlasma One99Xapo63Higher score
Lowest feesPlasma One80Xapo77Higher score
TransfersPlasma One100Xapo100Same score

Choose Plasma One Card if cashback and funds control matter most

Plasma One Card comes out ahead for Cashback, Funds control, and Lowest fees in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Lite starts with 2% XPL cashback
  • Higher tiers add bigger caps and perks
  • Earn is separate from card cashback

Choose Xapo Card if travel matters most

Xapo Card comes out ahead for Travel in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • No Xapo FX markup
  • Account-backed bank and crypto rails

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
Plasma One87
Xapo70

Plasma One Card has the higher Overall Score by 17 points.

Entry cost & FX
Plasma One$0 plan · 0–1% FX
Xapo$1,000/year plan · 0–0.29% FX

Plasma One Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year).

Purchase rewards
Plasma One2% base · up to 10%
Xapo0% base · up to 3%

Plasma One Card has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Funds control
Plasma OneSelf-controlled wallet
XapoCustodial balance

Plasma One Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Xapo Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
Plasma OneVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
XapoVirtual + Physical · Unknown

Plasma One Card lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 2).

Money movement
Plasma One3 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; Plasma One usernames; Virtual account withdrawals
Xapo2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; SWIFT payout, SEPA payout, Faster Payments payout, ACH payout

Xapo Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (8 vs 6).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
2%-10%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1%
ATM fee
Not available
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
3 crypto · 4 fiat
Payout methods
3 crypto · 6 fiat
Cashback
0%-3%
Plan cost
$1,000/year
FX fee
0–0.29%
ATM fee
0–2%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Not disclosed
Receive methods
3 crypto · 4 fiat
Payout methods
3 crypto · 3 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Plasma One CardOverall87
Xapo CardOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Plasma One Card
87
Xapo Card
70
Cashback score
Plasma One Card
78
Xapo Card
24
Travel score
Plasma One Card
72
Xapo Card
91
Funds control score
Plasma One Card
99
Xapo Card
63
Lowest fees score
Plasma One Card
80
Xapo Card
77
Transfers score
Plasma One Card
100
Xapo Card
100
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Plasma One Card
Lite starts with 2% XPL cashback, Higher tiers add bigger caps and perks
Xapo Card
No Xapo FX markup, Account-backed bank and crypto rails
Trade-offs
Plasma One Card
Physical access is limited; no ATM, Cashback is capped by tier
Xapo Card
$1,000 annual membership, Cashback is temporary and capped ambiguously
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Plasma One Card
$0
Xapo Card
$1,000/year
FX fee
Plasma One Card
0–1%
Xapo Card
0–0.29%
Top-up fee
Plasma One Card
0%
Xapo Card
No direct card top-up; the Xapo Account balance funds card spending
Card spending fee
Plasma One Card
Not disclosed
Xapo Card
0%
ATM fee
Plasma One Card
Not available
Xapo Card
0–2%
Virtual card
Plasma One Card
Up to 3 free virtual cards by tier
Xapo Card
$0 in the Visa Europe programme; outside-Europe pricing not disclosed
Physical card
Plasma One Card
First physical card free in the currently confirmed Core and Platinum flows. Core standard delivery is $20 and express is $50; Platinum standard delivery is free and express is $30. Additional or replacement cards cost $40 for Core and $120 for Platinum.
Xapo Card
$0 for Metal; $0 for standard physical Visa Europe; other standard pricing not disclosed
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Plasma One Card
3 plans: Lite, Core, Platinum
Xapo Card
1 plans: Xapo Bank membership
Top cashback plan
Plasma One Card
Platinum: 4%
Xapo Card
Xapo Bank membership: 0%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Plasma One Card
Visa
Xapo Card
Visa/Mastercard
Card formats
Plasma One Card
Virtual, Physical
Xapo Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Plasma One Card
Not available
Xapo Card
Available
Mobile wallets
Plasma One Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Apps
Plasma One Card
iOS, Android
Xapo Card
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Plasma One Card
Shown in app
Xapo Card
$50,000 daily for point-of-sale and online purchases
Monthly spending limit
Plasma One Card
Shown in app
Xapo Card
$250,000 monthly under the Visa Europe programme
ATM limit
Plasma One Card
Not available, including for physical cards
Xapo Card
$2,000 daily; Visa Europe also lists $15,000 monthly
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Plasma One Card
Plasma, Ethereum, Solana, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum +5
Xapo Card
Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, Tron, Solana
Crypto deposits
Plasma One Card
Stablecoins: USDT, USDC, USDG
Xapo Card
Stablecoins: USDC, USDT; Other crypto: BTC
Fiat deposits
Plasma One Card
USD virtual account, EUR / GBP virtual accounts, MXN / BRL local transfers, COP virtual account
Xapo Card
SWIFT receive, ACH receive, SEPA receive, Faster Payments receive
Transfers
Plasma One Card
Stablecoin transfers; Plasma One usernames; Virtual account withdrawals
Xapo Card
Stablecoin transfers; SWIFT payout, SEPA payout, Faster Payments payout, ACH payout
Payout currencies
Plasma One Card
USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL, COP
Xapo Card
USD, GBP, EUR
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Plasma One Card
2%
Xapo Card
0%
Max cashback
Plasma One Card
10%
Xapo Card
3%
Reward currency
Plasma One Card
USD cashback paid in XPL
Xapo Card
BTC
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Plasma One Card
Up to 5% APY
Xapo Card
Up to 3.35% APY
How it works
Plasma One Card
Optional earn vault
Xapo Card
Earn on spending balance
Separate deposit
Plasma One Card
Yes
Xapo Card
No
Use balance for spending
Plasma One Card
No
Xapo Card
Yes
Lock-up
Plasma One Card
No
Xapo Card
No
09

Trust & availability

8 fields
Custody
Plasma One Card
Self-custody
Xapo Card
Custodial
Control until payment
Plasma One Card
You keep control
Xapo Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Plasma One Card
Rain, Third National
Xapo Card
Transact Payments Malta Limited
Card processing
Plasma One Card
0x
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Plasma One Card
Privy, Veda
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Deposits & withdrawals
Plasma One Card
Bridge, Bridge Ventures LLC
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
Bank transfers
Plasma One Card
Not disclosed
Xapo Card
Xapo Bank Limited
Programme operator
Plasma One Card
Plasma
Xapo Card
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Plasma One Card
12
Xapo Card
21
Last reviewed
Plasma One Card
Aug 27, 2026
Xapo Card
Sep 1, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Plasma One Card is the stronger all-round choice

Plasma One Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 87 versus 70 for Xapo Card. Plasma One Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year). Plasma One Card has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Xapo Card still comes out ahead for Travel, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. Plasma One Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Xapo Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Xapo Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (8 vs 6). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Plasma One Card and Xapo Card reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Plasma One vs Xapo FAQ

Is Plasma One or Xapo better overall?

Plasma One Card has the higher Overall Score (87 vs 70). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Plasma One or Xapo?

Plasma One Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $1,000/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Plasma One or Xapo?

Plasma One Card has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Plasma One and Xapo differ on custody?

Plasma One Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Xapo Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Plasma One vs Xapo comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was September 1, 2026, using 33 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace