Side-by-side card comparison

Tangem vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

Tangem Card has the higher Overall Score by 9 points (79 vs 70). Tangem Card looks stronger for Funds control and Transfers, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees.

Information checked Oct 16, 202633 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Tangem Card is the better all-round starting point

Tangem Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Uphold Card US may be the better fit for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallTangem79Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackTangem74Uphold US75Higher score
TravelTangem64Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlTangem90Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesTangem54Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersTangem91Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Tangem Card if funds control and transfers matter most

Tangem Card comes out ahead for Funds control and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Direct USDC funding on Polygon
  • No monthly or standard purchase fee

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback and travel matter most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
Tangem79
Uphold US70

Tangem Card has the higher Overall Score by 9 points.

Entry cost & FX
Tangem$0 plan · Up to 3% legal cap; current fee unknown FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option.

Purchase rewards
Tangem1% base · up to 2%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 1%).

Funds control
TangemHybrid custody
Uphold USCustodial balance

Tangem Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
TangemVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
Tangem2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; USD ACH withdrawal, USD Fedwire withdrawal
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Tangem Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
1%-2%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
Up to 3% legal cap; current fee unknown
ATM fee
2–4%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
2 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 1 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Tangem CardOverall79
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Tangem Card
79
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Tangem Card
74
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Tangem Card
64
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Tangem Card
90
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Tangem Card
54
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Tangem Card
91
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Tangem Card
Apple Pay and Google Pay, Direct USDC funding on Polygon
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Tangem Card
Cashback starts at a $30 purchase, ATM withdrawals cost 2%-4%
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Tangem Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Tangem Card
Up to 3% legal cap; current fee unknown
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Tangem Card
Crypto: no provider top-up fee. Bank: Basic ACH $1 / Fedwire $11; Plus free; third-party costs separate
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Tangem Card
0%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Tangem Card
2–4%
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Tangem Card
$0 for the first virtual card
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Tangem Card
Basic: destination-dependent delivery shown before order; Plus: first physical delivery free
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Tangem Card
2 plans: Basic, Plus
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Tangem Card
Plus: 2%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Tangem Card
Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Tangem Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Tangem Card
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Tangem Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Tangem Card
iOS, Android
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Tangem Card
Basic: up to $10,000 daily; Plus: up to $50,000 daily, subject to account controls
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Tangem Card
No current monthly POS amount is published; up to 1,000 POS transactions per month
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Tangem Card
$250 per withdrawal; up to three withdrawals per 24 hours; eligible card and ATM required
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Tangem Card
Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Base, Arbitrum
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Tangem Card
Stablecoins: USDC, USDT
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Tangem Card
USD ACH deposit, USD Fedwire deposit
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Tangem Card
Stablecoin transfers; USD ACH withdrawal, USD Fedwire withdrawal
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Tangem Card
USD, USDC
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Tangem Card
1%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Tangem Card
2%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Tangem Card
USDC
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Tangem Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Tangem Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Tangem Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Tangem Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Tangem Card
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

6 fields
Custody
Tangem Card
Hybrid custody
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Tangem Card
You keep control
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Tangem Card
Third National
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Card processing
Tangem Card
Paera LLC
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Tangem Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Identity verification
Tangem Card
Sumsub
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Tangem Card
20
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Tangem Card
Oct 16, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Tangem Card is the stronger all-round choice

Tangem Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 79 versus 70 for Uphold Card US. The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 1%).

Uphold Card US still comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Lowest fees, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. Tangem Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Tangem Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Tangem Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Tangem vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Tangem or Uphold US better overall?

Tangem Card has the higher Overall Score (79 vs 70). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Tangem or Uphold US?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Tangem or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 1%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Tangem and Uphold US differ on custody?

Tangem Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Tangem vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 16, 2026, using 33 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace