Side-by-side card comparison

XPlace vs Coinbase: overall score versus use-case fit

XPlace Card has the higher Overall Score by 3 points (68 vs 65). XPlace Card looks stronger for Cashback, Funds control, and Lowest fees, while Coinbase Card comes out ahead for Travel and Transfers.

Information checked Aug 30, 202648 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

XPlace Card is the better all-round starting point

XPlace Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Coinbase Card may be the better fit for Travel and Transfers. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallXPlace68Coinbase65Higher score
CashbackXPlace49Coinbase37Higher score
TravelXPlace61Coinbase62Higher score
Funds controlXPlace67Coinbase48Higher score
Lowest feesXPlace69Coinbase55Higher score
TransfersXPlace62Coinbase84Higher score

Choose XPlace Card if cashback and funds control matter most

XPlace Card comes out ahead for Cashback, Funds control, and Lowest fees in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Two distinct USDC spending modes
  • Tiered USDC cashback with published caps
  • Phone wallets and non-custodial collateral

Choose Coinbase Card if travel and transfers matter most

Coinbase Card comes out ahead for Travel and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use
  • The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
  • Cash, USDC and supported crypto can fund the same card flow

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
XPlace68
Coinbase65

XPlace Card has the higher Overall Score by 3 points.

Entry cost & FX
XPlace$0 plan · 0–1% FX
Coinbase$0 plan · U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate FX

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option.

Purchase rewards
XPlace0.5% base · up to 4%
CoinbaseNot disclosed

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below.

Funds control
XPlaceHybrid custody
CoinbaseCustodial balance

XPlace Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Coinbase Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
XPlaceVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
CoinbaseVirtual + Physical · Unknown

XPlace Card lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 2).

Money movement
XPlace2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers
Coinbase1 stablecoin · Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out

Coinbase Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (4 vs 3).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0.5%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1%
ATM fee
Not available
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
1 crypto · 0 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 0 fiat
Cashback
Not disclosed
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
ATM fee
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Not disclosed
Receive methods
1 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 3 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
XPlace CardOverall68
Coinbase CardOverall65
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
XPlace Card
68
Coinbase Card
65
Cashback score
XPlace Card
49
Coinbase Card
37
Travel score
XPlace Card
61
Coinbase Card
62
Funds control score
XPlace Card
67
Coinbase Card
48
Lowest fees score
XPlace Card
69
Coinbase Card
55
Transfers score
XPlace Card
62
Coinbase Card
84
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
XPlace Card
Two distinct USDC spending modes, Tiered USDC cashback with published caps
Coinbase Card
Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use, The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
Trade-offs
XPlace Card
No live physical card or ATM access, Higher tiers cost more and FX has layers
Coinbase Card
Crypto conversion includes a spread with no stable public rate, Rewards are U.S.-only and the current rate changes in the app
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
XPlace Card
$0
Coinbase Card
$0
FX fee
XPlace Card
0–1%
Coinbase Card
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
Top-up fee
XPlace Card
Provider fee not published; external network or bridge costs may apply and are not card fees
Coinbase Card
Linked-bank and payroll funding are marketed at $0; other Coinbase account funding routes were not reviewed for this card profile
Card spending fee
XPlace Card
0%
Coinbase Card
0%
ATM fee
XPlace Card
Not available
Coinbase Card
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Virtual card
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Physical card
XPlace Card
Silver physical card: $99 with courier delivery included; estimated delivery 3-12 days. Other tier pricing remains unclear.
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
XPlace Card
4 plans: Basic, Silver, Gold, Platinum
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Top cashback plan
XPlace Card
Platinum: 2%
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
XPlace Card
Visa
Coinbase Card
Visa
Card formats
XPlace Card
Virtual, Physical
Coinbase Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
XPlace Card
Not available
Coinbase Card
Available
Mobile wallets
XPlace Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Apps
XPlace Card
iOS, Android
Coinbase Card
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
XPlace Card
No provider-set daily amount published; users can set their own daily, weekly and monthly controls
Coinbase Card
$2,500 per 24 hours in the U.S. programme
Monthly spending limit
XPlace Card
Basic $2,000; Silver $10,000; Gold $50,000; Platinum $750,000 per month
Coinbase Card
U.S. monthly spend limit not published; U.K./EEA limits are customer-specific
ATM limit
XPlace Card
Not available while only the virtual card is live
Coinbase Card
$1,000 per 24 hours in the U.S.; U.K./EEA values are shown in app
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
XPlace Card
Solana
Coinbase Card
Coinbase-supported networks
Crypto deposits
XPlace Card
Stablecoins: USDC
Coinbase Card
Other crypto: Supported crypto
Fiat deposits
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
Linked bank account, Payroll deposit
Transfers
XPlace Card
Stablecoin transfers
Coinbase Card
Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out
Payout currencies
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
USD, GBP, EUR
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
XPlace Card
0.5%
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Max cashback
XPlace Card
4%
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Reward currency
XPlace Card
USDC
Coinbase Card
Selected crypto offer
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
XPlace Card
Up to 6.15% APY
Coinbase Card
Not offered
How it works
XPlace Card
Borrow against collateral, Optional earn vault
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Separate deposit
XPlace Card
Yes
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Use balance for spending
XPlace Card
No
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Lock-up
XPlace Card
No
Coinbase Card
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

5 fields
Custody
XPlace Card
Hybrid custody
Coinbase Card
Custodial
Control until payment
XPlace Card
Provider controls funds
Coinbase Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
XPlace Card
Third National
Coinbase Card
Pathward, N.A., Paysafe Financial Services Limited, Paysafe Payment Solutions Limited
Card processing
XPlace Card
Signify Holdings, Inc. (Rain)
Coinbase Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Identity verification
XPlace Card
Sumsub
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
XPlace Card
26
Coinbase Card
22
Last reviewed
XPlace Card
Aug 27, 2026
Coinbase Card
Aug 30, 2026

04 · The trade-off

XPlace Card is the stronger all-round choice

XPlace Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 68 versus 65 for Coinbase Card. The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below.

Coinbase Card still comes out ahead for Travel and Transfers, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. XPlace Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Coinbase Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Coinbase Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (4 vs 3). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full XPlace Card and Coinbase Card reviews first.

05 · Common questions

XPlace vs Coinbase FAQ

Is XPlace or Coinbase better overall?

XPlace Card has the higher Overall Score (68 vs 65). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, XPlace or Coinbase?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, XPlace or Coinbase?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do XPlace and Coinbase differ on custody?

XPlace Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Coinbase Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this XPlace vs Coinbase comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was August 30, 2026, using 48 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace