Side-by-side card comparison

XPlace vs Uphold US: overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 2 points (70 vs 68). XPlace Card looks stronger for Funds control and Lowest fees, while Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Transfers.

Information checked Oct 14, 202640 official sources reviewed

01 · Overall score versus use-case fit

Uphold Card US is the better all-round starting point

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. XPlace Card may be the better fit for Funds control and Lowest fees. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallXPlace68Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackXPlace49Uphold US75Higher score
TravelXPlace65Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlXPlace67Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesXPlace65Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersXPlace62Uphold US65Higher score

Choose XPlace Card if funds control and lowest fees matter most

XPlace Card comes out ahead for Funds control and Lowest fees in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Two distinct USDC spending modes
  • Tiered USDC cashback with published caps
  • Phone wallets and non-custodial collateral

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback and travel matter most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

Where each card has the edge

The overall leader does not win every use case, so the reason you want the card matters here.

Overall Score
XPlace68
Uphold US70

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 2 points.

Entry cost & FX
XPlace$0 plan · 0–1% FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

XPlace Card has the lower published FX fee (0–1% vs 0–1.5%).

Purchase rewards
XPlace0.5% base · up to 2%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0.5%).

Funds control
XPlaceHybrid custody
Uphold USCustodial balance

XPlace Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
XPlaceVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
XPlace2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

XPlace Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (3 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the split decision

Start with the strengths that drive each use-case result, then test them against costs and access.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0.5%-2%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1%
ATM fee
Not available
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
1 crypto · 0 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 0 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

See how the trade-offs line up

Comparable figures receive a marker; missing or unverified details stay visible instead of becoming an assumed advantage.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
XPlace CardOverall68
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
XPlace Card
68
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
XPlace Card
49
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
XPlace Card
65
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
XPlace Card
67
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
XPlace Card
65
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
XPlace Card
62
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
XPlace Card
Two distinct USDC spending modes, Tiered USDC cashback with published caps
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
XPlace Card
No live physical card or ATM access, Higher tiers cost more and FX has layers
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
XPlace Card
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
XPlace Card
0–1%
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
XPlace Card
Provider fee not published; external network or bridge costs may apply and are not card fees
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
XPlace Card
0%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
XPlace Card
Not available
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
XPlace Card
Silver physical card: $99 with courier delivery included; estimated delivery 3-12 days. Other tier pricing remains unclear.
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
XPlace Card
4 plans: Basic, Silver, Gold, Platinum
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
XPlace Card
Platinum: 2%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
XPlace Card
Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
XPlace Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
XPlace Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
XPlace Card
iOS, Android
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
XPlace Card
No provider-set daily amount published; users can set their own daily, weekly and monthly controls
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
XPlace Card
Basic $2,000; Silver $10,000; Gold $50,000; Platinum $750,000 per month
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
XPlace Card
Not available while only the virtual card is live
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
XPlace Card
Solana
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
XPlace Card
Stablecoins: USDC
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
XPlace Card
Stablecoin transfers
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
XPlace Card
0.5%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
XPlace Card
2%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
XPlace Card
USDC
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
XPlace Card
Up to 6.15% APY
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
XPlace Card
Borrow against collateral, Optional earn vault
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
XPlace Card
Yes
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
XPlace Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
XPlace Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

6 fields
Custody
XPlace Card
Hybrid custody
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
XPlace Card
Provider controls funds
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
XPlace Card
Third National
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Card processing
XPlace Card
Signify Holdings, Inc. (Rain)
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
XPlace Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Identity verification
XPlace Card
Sumsub
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
XPlace Card
27
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
XPlace Card
Sep 20, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The trade-off

Uphold Card US is the stronger all-round choice

Uphold Card US finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 70 versus 68 for XPlace Card. XPlace Card has the lower published FX fee (0–1% vs 0–1.5%). Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0.5%).

XPlace Card still comes out ahead for Funds control and Lowest fees, which may matter more than the overall result if that is how you plan to use the card. XPlace Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

XPlace Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (3 vs 2). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full XPlace Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

XPlace vs Uphold US FAQ

Is XPlace or Uphold US better overall?

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score (70 vs 68). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, XPlace or Uphold US?

XPlace Card has the lower published FX fee (0–1% vs 0–1.5%). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, XPlace or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0.5%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do XPlace and Uphold US differ on custody?

XPlace Card uses a hybrid custody setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this XPlace vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 40 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Try another angle

Compare either card with a nearby alternative, or build a different pair in the comparison workspace.

Open the comparison workspace