Side-by-side card comparison

ZEN vs Coinbase: fees, rewards and account setup

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score by 12 points (77 vs 65). ZEN Card also looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers. The details below show where Coinbase Card may still be the better personal fit.

Information checked Aug 30, 202665 official sources reviewed

01 · Make the first cut

ZEN Card is the better all-round starting point

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Coinbase Card may still suit you better if its card format, way of holding funds or availability is the deciding factor. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallZEN77Coinbase65Higher score
CashbackZEN39Coinbase37Higher score
TravelZEN96Coinbase62Higher score
Funds controlZEN65Coinbase48Higher score
Lowest feesZEN80Coinbase55Higher score
TransfersZEN98Coinbase84Higher score

Choose ZEN Card if cashback and travel matter most

ZEN Card comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Free plan with 0.5% weekday FX margin
  • Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
  • Four current crypto-route assets

Choose Coinbase Card if its day-to-day setup suits you

Coinbase Card does not lead one of the use-case scores here, but it can still be the right choice when its costs, rewards and day-to-day setup match how you plan to use it. The other card looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers, so compare that advantage with the features you would actually use.

  • Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use
  • The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
  • Cash, USDC and supported crypto can fund the same card flow

The differences that could change the result

The overall score points one way, but a specific use case or product condition may point another.

Overall Score
ZEN77
Coinbase65

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score by 12 points.

Entry cost & FX
ZEN$0 plan · 0–0.5% FX
Coinbase$0 plan · U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate FX

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option.

Purchase rewards
ZEN0% base
CoinbaseNot disclosed

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below.

Funds control
ZENCustodial balance
CoinbaseCustodial balance

ZEN Card and Coinbase Card use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
ZENVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
CoinbaseVirtual + Physical · Unknown

ZEN Card lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 2).

Money movement
ZEN2 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; Card-to-card transfer; SEPA transfers
Coinbase1 stablecoin · Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out

ZEN Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 4).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the two cards

These quick facts cover the costs, rewards and everyday features most likely to shape your choice. Use the full table below when you want the finer details.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0% base
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–0.5%
ATM fee
0–1.5%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
4 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
4 crypto · 1 fiat
Cashback
Not disclosed
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
ATM fee
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Not disclosed
Receive methods
1 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 3 fiat

03 · Compare the details

Compare the details side by side

We highlight a better number only when both cards publish values that can be compared fairly. Anything missing stays clearly marked.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
ZEN CardOverall77
Coinbase CardOverall65
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
ZEN Card
77
Coinbase Card
65
Cashback score
ZEN Card
39
Coinbase Card
37
Travel score
ZEN Card
96
Coinbase Card
62
Funds control score
ZEN Card
65
Coinbase Card
48
Lowest fees score
ZEN Card
80
Coinbase Card
55
Transfers score
ZEN Card
98
Coinbase Card
84
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
ZEN Card
Free plan with 0.5% weekday FX margin, Physical, virtual and phone-wallet access
Coinbase Card
Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use, The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
Trade-offs
ZEN Card
Free-plan ATM withdrawals cost 1.5%, No universal public cashback rate
Coinbase Card
Crypto conversion includes a spread with no stable public rate, Rewards are U.S.-only and the current rate changes in the app
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
ZEN Card
$0
Coinbase Card
$0
FX fee
ZEN Card
0–0.5%
Coinbase Card
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
Top-up fee
ZEN Card
0–3%
Coinbase Card
Linked-bank and payroll funding are marketed at $0; other Coinbase account funding routes were not reviewed for this card profile
Card spending fee
ZEN Card
0%
Coinbase Card
0%
ATM fee
ZEN Card
0–1.5%
Coinbase Card
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Virtual card
ZEN Card
Free/Gold: 1 included; Platinum/Pro: 3 included; next card €5
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Physical card
ZEN Card
Free first card €10; Gold 1 included; Platinum/Pro 2 included; next card €10
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
ZEN Card
4 plans: Free, Gold, Platinum, Pro
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Top cashback plan
ZEN Card
Free: 0%
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
ZEN Card
Mastercard/Visa
Coinbase Card
Visa
Card formats
ZEN Card
Virtual, Physical
Coinbase Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
ZEN Card
Available
Coinbase Card
Available
Mobile wallets
ZEN Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Apps
ZEN Card
iOS, Android, Web
Coinbase Card
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
ZEN Card
Standard €10,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Coinbase Card
$2,500 per 24 hours in the U.S. programme
Monthly spending limit
ZEN Card
Not publicly confirmed
Coinbase Card
U.S. monthly spend limit not published; U.K./EEA limits are customer-specific
ATM limit
ZEN Card
Standard €2,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Coinbase Card
$1,000 per 24 hours in the U.S.; U.K./EEA values are shown in app
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
Coinbase-supported networks
Crypto deposits
ZEN Card
Stablecoins: USDT, USDC; Other crypto: BTC, ETH
Coinbase Card
Other crypto: Supported crypto
Fiat deposits
ZEN Card
SEPA bank transfer, Payment-card top-up
Coinbase Card
Linked bank account, Payroll deposit
Transfers
ZEN Card
Stablecoin transfers; Card-to-card transfer; SEPA transfers
Coinbase Card
Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out
Payout currencies
ZEN Card
EUR
Coinbase Card
USD, GBP, EUR
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
ZEN Card
0%
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Max cashback
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Reward currency
ZEN Card
Transaction currency
Coinbase Card
Selected crypto offer
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
How it works
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Separate deposit
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Use balance for spending
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Lock-up
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

5 fields
Custody
ZEN Card
Custodial
Coinbase Card
Custodial
Control until payment
ZEN Card
Provider controls funds
Coinbase Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
ZEN Card
UAB ZEN.COM
Coinbase Card
Pathward, N.A., Paysafe Financial Services Limited, Paysafe Payment Solutions Limited
Card processing
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Deposits & withdrawals
ZEN Card
Triple A Technologies Pte Ltd, Coreline Solutions LLC
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
ZEN Card
43
Coinbase Card
22
Last reviewed
ZEN Card
Aug 23, 2026
Coinbase Card
Aug 30, 2026

04 · The takeaway

ZEN Card is the stronger all-round choice

ZEN Card finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 77 versus 65 for Coinbase Card. The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below.

Coinbase Card can still be the more comfortable choice if its availability, card setup or way of holding funds suits you better. ZEN Card and Coinbase Card use the same custodial balance setup.

ZEN Card lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (5 vs 4). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full ZEN Card and Coinbase Card reviews first.

05 · Common questions

ZEN vs Coinbase FAQ

Is ZEN or Coinbase better overall?

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score (77 vs 65). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, ZEN or Coinbase?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, ZEN or Coinbase?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do ZEN and Coinbase differ on custody?

ZEN Card and Coinbase Card use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this ZEN vs Coinbase comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was August 30, 2026, using 65 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Keep comparing

See how each card compares with other close alternatives, or choose a different pair yourself.

Open the comparison workspace