Side-by-side card comparison

ZEN vs Coinbase One

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score by 22 points (78 vs 56). ZEN Card also looks stronger for Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers. The details below show where Coinbase One Card may still be the better personal fit.

Latest check Oct 20, 202666 official sources reviewed

ZEN Card

Best fit

  • Combining multi-currency card spending, SEPA transfers and crypto cash-outs.
  • Shopping with participating online merchants for offer-specific cashback.
  • ATM use within Better's €200 or Best's €800 monthly allowance.

Before you choose

  • Good charges 1% for crypto top-ups; card spending uses the converted fiat balance.
  • Legacy plans change after notice; exchange allowances depend on the new plan.
  • Reward Zone starts with Better; protection benefits depend on plan and residence.

Coinbase One Card

Best fit

  • Existing Coinbase One members who already pay for an eligible plan.
  • Everyday credit-card spending with 2% back in BTC on eligible purchases.
  • Booking through Coinbase One Card Travel for 5% back in BTC.

Before you choose

  • Eligible membership starts at $49.99/year; Basic monthly does not qualify.
  • 4% needs $200,000 on Coinbase; boosted rates cover $10,000/month of spend.
  • U.S. residents only, excluding territories; credit approval is required.

Fees & features

Compare the details

Best markers compare published, comparable values. Unknown values never win a row.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
ZEN CardOverall78
01

Scores

Overall Score
ZEN Card
78
Coinbase One Card
56
Cashback score
ZEN Card
40
Coinbase One Card
40
Travel score
ZEN Card
98
Coinbase One Card
60
Funds control score
ZEN Card
66
Coinbase One Card
36
Lowest fees score
ZEN Card
83
Coinbase One Card
40
Transfers score
ZEN Card
98
Coinbase One Card
24
02

Costs

Plan cost
ZEN Card
$0
Coinbase One Card
$49.99/year
FX fee
ZEN Card
0.1–0.5%
Coinbase One Card
0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate
Top-up fee
ZEN Card
Good crypto top-up: 1%. Card-funded top-ups and other new-plan routes: check the current tariff. Legacy card-funded rates apply only until migration
Coinbase One Card
Linked U.S. bank or accepted Coinbase wallet repayment; crypto spread varies
Card spending fee
ZEN Card
0%
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
ATM fee
ZEN Card
0–1.75%
Coinbase One Card
Cash advance: greater of $10 or 5%, plus variable interest from posting and possible ATM-operator fees
Virtual card
ZEN Card
Good includes a virtual card; Best includes up to 6. Other allowances follow the new plan tariff.
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Physical card
ZEN Card
Better and Best include 1 physical card. Good pricing and delivery totals need the current quote; ZEN Metal is coming soon.
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
03

Plans

Available plans
ZEN Card
4 plans: Good, Better, Best, ZEN
Coinbase One Card
4 plans: AOC tier 1: 2%, AOC tier 2: 2.5%, AOC tier 3: 3%, AOC tier 4: 4%
Top cashback plan
ZEN Card
Good: 0%
Coinbase One Card
AOC tier 4: 4%: 4%
04

Everyday use

Network
ZEN Card
Mastercard/Visa
Coinbase One Card
American Express
Card formats
ZEN Card
Virtual, Physical
Coinbase One Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
ZEN Card
Available
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Mobile wallets
ZEN Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Coinbase One Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
ZEN Card
iOS, Android, Web
Coinbase One Card
iOS, Android, Web
Daily spending limit
ZEN Card
Standard €10,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable daily spend ceiling
Monthly spending limit
ZEN Card
Not publicly confirmed
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable monthly spend ceiling
ATM limit
ZEN Card
Standard €2,000/day; maximum €30,000/day (currency equivalents also published)
Coinbase One Card
Cash access and its sublimit are determined by the issuer
05

Funding & transfers

Networks
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
ZEN Card
Stablecoins: USDT, USDC; Other crypto: BTC, ETH
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
ZEN Card
SEPA bank transfer, Payment-card top-up
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Transfers
ZEN Card
Stablecoin transfers; Card-to-card transfer; SEPA transfers
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Payout currencies
ZEN Card
EUR
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
06

Rewards

Base cashback
ZEN Card
0%
Coinbase One Card
2%
Max cashback
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase One Card
4%
Reward currency
ZEN Card
Transaction currency
Coinbase One Card
Bitcoin
07

Earn

Advertised APY
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
How it works
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase One Card
Borrow against collateral
Separate deposit
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase One Card
No
Use balance for spending
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase One Card
No
Lock-up
ZEN Card
Not offered
Coinbase One Card
Yes
08

Trust & availability

Custody
ZEN Card
Custodial
Coinbase One Card
Custodial
Control until payment
ZEN Card
Provider controls funds
Coinbase One Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
ZEN Card
UAB ZEN.COM
Coinbase One Card
First Electronic Bank
Custody / key management
ZEN Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase One Card
Coinbase, Inc.
Deposits & withdrawals
ZEN Card
Triple A Technologies Pte Ltd, Coreline Solutions LLC
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
09

Sources

Official sources
ZEN Card
43
Coinbase One Card
23
Last reviewed
ZEN Card
Oct 20, 2026
Coinbase One Card
Oct 11, 2026

Choosing between these cards

When to choose ZEN or Coinbase One

Keeping recurring costs down

ZEN's base plan is $0, compared with $49.99/year for Coinbase One. This favours ZEN for occasional use; card issuance and transaction fees are separate.

Spending in foreign currencies

For FX on foreign-currency purchases, ZEN lists 0.1–0.5%, versus 0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate at Coinbase One. Use the tariff for your country and plan; conversion fees can add to these figures.

Using an exchange account

ZEN does not require a centralised-exchange account; Coinbase One does. Consider Coinbase One if you already want to use that exchange, or ZEN if you want to avoid that account requirement.

Common questions

ZEN vs Coinbase One FAQ

Is ZEN or Coinbase One better overall?

ZEN Card has the higher Overall Score (78 vs 56). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, ZEN or Coinbase One?

ZEN Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $49.99/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, ZEN or Coinbase One?

Coinbase One Card has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do ZEN and Coinbase One differ on custody?

ZEN Card and Coinbase One Card use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this ZEN vs Coinbase One comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 20, 2026, using 66 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

More comparisons

Open the comparison workspace