Side-by-side card comparison

Coinbase One vs Uphold US: fees, rewards and account setup

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 14 points (70 vs 56). Uphold Card US also looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers. The details below show where Coinbase One Card may still be the better personal fit.

Information checked Oct 14, 202636 official sources reviewed

01 · Make the first cut

Uphold Card US is the better all-round starting point

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score in this comparison. Coinbase One Card may still suit you better if its card format, way of holding funds or availability is the deciding factor. A score cannot tell you whether a provider will accept your application or whether every feature will be available where you live, so check the latest provider terms before signing up.

OverallCoinbase One56Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackCoinbase One40Uphold US75Higher score
TravelCoinbase One60Uphold US71Higher score
Funds controlCoinbase One36Uphold US44Higher score
Lowest feesCoinbase One40Uphold US56Higher score
TransfersCoinbase One24Uphold US65Higher score

Choose Coinbase One Card if its day-to-day setup suits you

Coinbase One Card does not lead one of the use-case scores here, but it can still be the right choice when its costs, rewards and day-to-day setup match how you plan to use it. The other card looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers, so compare that advantage with the features you would actually use.

  • 2% BTC on eligible purchases
  • No foreign transaction fee
  • Metal card and both phone wallets

Choose Uphold Card US if cashback and travel matter most

Uphold Card US comes out ahead for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers in this comparison. It is worth a closer look if those are the parts of a card you expect to use most.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

The differences that could change the result

The overall score points one way, but a specific use case or product condition may point another.

Overall Score
Coinbase One56
Uphold US70

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score by 14 points.

Entry cost & FX
Coinbase One$49.99/year plan · 0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

Uphold Card US has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $49.99/year).

Purchase rewards
Coinbase One2% base · up to 4%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 2%.

Funds control
Coinbase OneCustodial balance
Uphold USCustodial balance

Coinbase One Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Everyday access
Coinbase OneVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
Coinbase One0 stablecoins · Not modeled
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Uphold Card US lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (2 vs 0).

02 · Read the shortlist

A closer look at the two cards

These quick facts cover the costs, rewards and everyday features most likely to shape your choice. Use the full table below when you want the finer details.

2 cards compared
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$49.99/year
FX fee
0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate
ATM fee
Cash advance: greater of $10 or 5%, plus variable interest from posting and possible ATM-operator fees
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 0 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 0 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

Compare the details side by side

We highlight a better number only when both cards publish values that can be compared fairly. Anything missing stays clearly marked.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Coinbase One CardOverall56
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Coinbase One Card
56
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Coinbase One Card
40
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Coinbase One Card
60
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Coinbase One Card
36
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Coinbase One Card
40
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Coinbase One Card
24
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Coinbase One Card
2% BTC on eligible purchases, No foreign transaction fee
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Coinbase One Card
Paid membership is required, Debt and cash advances carry costs
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Coinbase One Card
$49.99/year
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Coinbase One Card
0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Coinbase One Card
Linked U.S. bank or accepted Coinbase wallet repayment; crypto spread varies
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Coinbase One Card
Cash advance: greater of $10 or 5%, plus variable interest from posting and possible ATM-operator fees
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Coinbase One Card
4 plans: AOC tier 1: 2%, AOC tier 2: 2.5%, AOC tier 3: 3%, AOC tier 4: 4%
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Coinbase One Card
AOC tier 4: 4%: 4%
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Coinbase One Card
American Express
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Coinbase One Card
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Coinbase One Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Coinbase One Card
iOS, Android, Web
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable daily spend ceiling
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable monthly spend ceiling
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Coinbase One Card
Cash access and its sublimit are determined by the issuer
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Coinbase One Card
2%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Coinbase One Card
4%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Coinbase One Card
Bitcoin
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Coinbase One Card
Borrow against collateral
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Coinbase One Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Coinbase One Card
No
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Coinbase One Card
Yes
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

4 fields
Custody
Coinbase One Card
Custodial
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Coinbase One Card
Provider controls funds
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Coinbase One Card
First Electronic Bank
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Custody / key management
Coinbase One Card
Coinbase, Inc.
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Coinbase One Card
23
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Coinbase One Card
Oct 11, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The takeaway

Uphold Card US is the stronger all-round choice

Uphold Card US finishes ahead with an Overall Score of 70 versus 56 for Coinbase One Card. Uphold Card US has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $49.99/year). Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 2%.

Coinbase One Card can still be the more comfortable choice if its availability, card setup or way of holding funds suits you better. Coinbase One Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

Uphold Card US lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (2 vs 0). Before applying, confirm availability in your country and recheck the provider's current fees and reward conditions.

If one card now looks like the better fit, you can check the latest application terms on the provider site or read our full Coinbase One Card and Uphold Card US reviews first.

05 · Common questions

Coinbase One vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Coinbase One or Uphold US better overall?

Uphold Card US has the higher Overall Score (70 vs 56). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Coinbase One or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $49.99/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Coinbase One or Uphold US?

Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 2%. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Coinbase One and Uphold US differ on custody?

Coinbase One Card and Uphold Card US use the same custodial balance setup.

How current is this Coinbase One vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 36 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Keep comparing

See how each card compares with other close alternatives, or choose a different pair yourself.

Open the comparison workspace