Side-by-side card comparison

Gnosis Pay vs Coinbase: where the score gap comes from

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Scores below describe the reviewed card terms, not availability for a new application.

Information checked Sep 6, 202639 official sources reviewed

01 · Where the gap opens

Gnosis Pay is being discontinued

This comparison remains available for existing cardholders. Gnosis Pay is excluded from our recommendations during its wind-down. Review Rebind for the EUR migration route and check the other card's current eligibility independently.

OverallGnosis Pay77Coinbase64Higher score
CashbackGnosis Pay22Coinbase36Compare the details below
TravelGnosis Pay100Coinbase61Compare the details below
Funds controlGnosis Pay90Coinbase48Compare the details below
Lowest feesGnosis Pay87Coinbase55Compare the details below
TransfersGnosis Pay91Coinbase84Compare the details below

Gnosis Pay: existing-card reference

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.

  • Excluded from new-card recommendations
  • EUR migration route: Rebind
  • Exact card shutdown day unannounced

Choose Coinbase Card if its day-to-day setup suits you

Coinbase Card does not lead one of the use-case scores here, but it can still be the right choice when its costs, rewards and day-to-day setup match how you plan to use it. Read the side-by-side details before deciding.

  • Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use
  • The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
  • Cash, USDC and supported crypto can fund the same card flow

What separates the two cards

The higher score is only the start. The rows below show which product differences create it.

Overall Score
Gnosis Pay77
Coinbase64

Gnosis Pay has the higher Overall Score by 13 points.

Entry cost & FX
Gnosis Pay$0 plan · 0% FX
Coinbase$0 plan · U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate FX

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option.

Purchase rewards
Gnosis Pay0% base · up to 5%
CoinbaseNot disclosed

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below.

Funds control
Gnosis PaySelf-controlled wallet
CoinbaseCustodial balance

Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Coinbase Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
Gnosis PayVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
CoinbaseVirtual + Physical · Unknown

Gnosis Pay lists more card formats and phone-wallet options (4 vs 2).

Money movement
Gnosis Pay3 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; IBAN outbound
Coinbase1 stablecoin · Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out

Both cards list the same number of stablecoins and ways to send money out.

02 · Read the shortlist

Why one card starts ahead

These quick facts cover the costs, rewards and everyday features behind the early lead.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0%-5%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0%
ATM fee
0–2%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
3 crypto · 1 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat
Cashback
Not disclosed
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
ATM fee
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Not disclosed
Receive methods
1 crypto · 2 fiat
Payout methods
1 crypto · 3 fiat

03 · Compare the details

Test the lead, row by row

A better number is marked only when both providers publish values that can be compared fairly.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Gnosis PayOverall77
Coinbase CardOverall64
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Gnosis Pay
77
Coinbase Card
64
Cashback score
Gnosis Pay
22
Coinbase Card
36
Travel score
Gnosis Pay
100
Coinbase Card
61
Funds control score
Gnosis Pay
90
Coinbase Card
48
Lowest fees score
Gnosis Pay
87
Coinbase Card
55
Transfers score
Gnosis Pay
91
Coinbase Card
84
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Gnosis Pay
Spend stablecoins from a dedicated Safe, SEPA IBAN funding fits euro users
Coinbase Card
Virtual and physical Visa cards cover online, store and ATM use, The U.S. schedule lists $0 card, monthly and Coinbase ATM fees
Trade-offs
Gnosis Pay
Consumer card being discontinued; GNO cashback ends September 30, 2026
Coinbase Card
Crypto conversion includes a spread with no stable public rate, Rewards are U.S.-only and the current rate changes in the app
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Gnosis Pay
$0
Coinbase Card
$0
FX fee
Gnosis Pay
0%
Coinbase Card
U.S. international transaction fee: $0. Visa conversion, U.K./EEA pricing and crypto spread remain separate
Top-up fee
Gnosis Pay
0%
Coinbase Card
Linked-bank and payroll funding are marketed at $0; other Coinbase account funding routes were not reviewed for this card profile
Card spending fee
Gnosis Pay
0%
Coinbase Card
0%
ATM fee
Gnosis Pay
0–2%
Coinbase Card
U.S. Coinbase ATM fee: $0. ATM operators may charge; U.K./EEA provider pricing is not published here
Virtual card
Gnosis Pay
Free; available after the card application is accepted
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Physical card
Gnosis Pay
30.23 EURe one-time; shipping free
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Gnosis Pay
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Top cashback plan
Gnosis Pay
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Gnosis Pay
Visa
Coinbase Card
Visa
Card formats
Gnosis Pay
Virtual, Physical
Coinbase Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Gnosis Pay
Available
Coinbase Card
Available
Mobile wallets
Gnosis Pay
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Apps
Gnosis Pay
Web
Coinbase Card
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Gnosis Pay
8,000 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/day; 5,000 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/transaction
Coinbase Card
$2,500 per 24 hours in the U.S. programme
Monthly spending limit
Gnosis Pay
Not disclosed
Coinbase Card
U.S. monthly spend limit not published; U.K./EEA limits are customer-specific
ATM limit
Gnosis Pay
250 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/withdrawal; 500 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/day
Coinbase Card
$1,000 per 24 hours in the U.S.; U.K./EEA values are shown in app
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Gnosis Pay
Gnosis Chain
Coinbase Card
Coinbase-supported networks
Crypto deposits
Gnosis Pay
Stablecoins: EURe, GBPe, USDCe
Coinbase Card
Other crypto: Supported crypto
Fiat deposits
Gnosis Pay
Receive-only SEPA IBAN
Coinbase Card
Linked bank account, Payroll deposit
Transfers
Gnosis Pay
Stablecoin transfers; IBAN outbound
Coinbase Card
Stablecoin transfers; Coinbase U.S. account cash-out, Coinbase U.K. and EEA account cash-out
Payout currencies
Gnosis Pay
EURe
Coinbase Card
USD, GBP, EUR
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Gnosis Pay
0%
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Max cashback
Gnosis Pay
5%
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Reward currency
Gnosis Pay
GNO cashback
Coinbase Card
Selected crypto offer
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
How it works
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Separate deposit
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
Lock-up
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Coinbase Card
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

8 fields
Custody
Gnosis Pay
Self-custody
Coinbase Card
Custodial
Control until payment
Gnosis Pay
You keep control
Coinbase Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Gnosis Pay
Monavate
Coinbase Card
Pathward, N.A., Paysafe Financial Services Limited, Paysafe Payment Solutions Limited
Card processing
Gnosis Pay
Paymentology
Coinbase Card
Marqeta, Inc.
Custody / key management
Gnosis Pay
Safe{Wallet}
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Bank transfers
Gnosis Pay
Monerium
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Identity verification
Gnosis Pay
Sumsub
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
Programme operator
Gnosis Pay
Gnosis Pay
Coinbase Card
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Gnosis Pay
17
Coinbase Card
22
Last reviewed
Gnosis Pay
Sep 6, 2026
Coinbase Card
Aug 30, 2026

04 · The verdict

Plan around the Gnosis Pay wind-down

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.

An Overall Score does not extend a card's service life. Existing users can review the recorded costs below, but new applicants should consider a live programme and confirm its country eligibility.

Read the Gnosis transition notice and our Rebind profile before migrating.

05 · Common questions

Gnosis Pay vs Coinbase FAQ

Is Gnosis Pay or Coinbase better overall?

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Gnosis Pay is not a current recommendation, regardless of its numerical score.

Which has lower fees, Gnosis Pay or Coinbase?

The starting plan and FX figures are tied, or the providers have not published enough matching information to name a lower-cost option. Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Gnosis Pay or Coinbase?

The providers have not published enough matching base cashback information to name a winner. Check the maximum rates, reward assets, caps and conditions below. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Gnosis Pay and Coinbase differ on custody?

Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Coinbase Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Gnosis Pay vs Coinbase comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was September 6, 2026, using 39 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Test the winner

Put the leading card against another close alternative, or choose a new pair yourself.

Open the comparison workspace