Side-by-side card comparison

Gnosis Pay vs Uphold US: where the score gap comes from

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Scores below describe the reviewed card terms, not availability for a new application.

Information checked Oct 14, 202630 official sources reviewed

01 · Where the gap opens

Gnosis Pay is being discontinued

This comparison remains available for existing cardholders. Gnosis Pay is excluded from our recommendations during its wind-down. Review Rebind for the EUR migration route and check the other card's current eligibility independently.

OverallGnosis Pay77Uphold US70Higher score
CashbackGnosis Pay22Uphold US75Compare the details below
TravelGnosis Pay100Uphold US71Compare the details below
Funds controlGnosis Pay90Uphold US44Compare the details below
Lowest feesGnosis Pay87Uphold US56Compare the details below
TransfersGnosis Pay91Uphold US65Compare the details below

Gnosis Pay: existing-card reference

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.

  • Excluded from new-card recommendations
  • EUR migration route: Rebind
  • Exact card shutdown day unannounced

Choose Uphold Card US if its day-to-day setup suits you

Uphold Card US does not lead one of the use-case scores here, but it can still be the right choice when its costs, rewards and day-to-day setup match how you plan to use it. Read the side-by-side details before deciding.

  • Essential has no annual fee
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Elite raises spending limits

What separates the two cards

The higher score is only the start. The rows below show which product differences create it.

Overall Score
Gnosis Pay77
Uphold US70

Gnosis Pay has the higher Overall Score by 7 points.

Entry cost & FX
Gnosis Pay$0 plan · 0% FX
Uphold US$0 plan · 0–1.5% FX

Gnosis Pay has the lower published FX fee (0% vs 0–1.5%).

Purchase rewards
Gnosis Pay0% base · up to 5%
Uphold US2% base · up to 4%

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%).

Funds control
Gnosis PaySelf-controlled wallet
Uphold USCustodial balance

Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

Everyday access
Gnosis PayVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold USVirtual + Physical · Apple Pay, Google Pay

Both cards list the same number of card formats and phone-wallet options.

Money movement
Gnosis Pay3 stablecoins · Stablecoin transfers; IBAN outbound
Uphold US0 stablecoins · US bank withdrawal

Gnosis Pay lists more stablecoins and ways to send money out (4 vs 2).

02 · Read the shortlist

Why one card starts ahead

These quick facts cover the costs, rewards and everyday features behind the early lead.

2 cards compared
Cashback
0%-5%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0%
ATM fee
0–2%
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
3 crypto · 1 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat
Cashback
2%-4%
Plan cost
$0
FX fee
0–1.5%
ATM fee
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Card formats
Virtual, Physical
Wallet payments
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Receive methods
0 crypto · 3 fiat
Payout methods
0 crypto · 1 fiat

03 · Compare the details

Test the lead, row by row

A better number is marked only when both providers publish values that can be compared fairly.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
Gnosis PayOverall77
Uphold Card USOverall70
01

Scores

6 fields
Overall Score
Gnosis Pay
77
Uphold Card US
70
Cashback score
Gnosis Pay
22
Uphold Card US
75
Travel score
Gnosis Pay
100
Uphold Card US
71
Funds control score
Gnosis Pay
90
Uphold Card US
44
Lowest fees score
Gnosis Pay
87
Uphold Card US
56
Transfers score
Gnosis Pay
91
Uphold Card US
65
02

Strengths & trade-offs

2 fields
Strengths
Gnosis Pay
Spend stablecoins from a dedicated Safe, SEPA IBAN funding fits euro users
Uphold Card US
Essential has no annual fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Trade-offs
Gnosis Pay
Consumer card being discontinued; GNO cashback ends September 30, 2026
Uphold Card US
Asset sales can reduce rewards, Rewards have a disputed time window
03

Costs

7 fields
Plan cost
Gnosis Pay
$0
Uphold Card US
$0
FX fee
Gnosis Pay
0%
Uphold Card US
0–1.5%
Top-up fee
Gnosis Pay
0%
Uphold Card US
ACH: no deposit fee; external card: 3.99%
Card spending fee
Gnosis Pay
0%
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Gnosis Pay
0–2%
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2.95; Elite: $0
Virtual card
Gnosis Pay
Free; available after the card application is accepted
Uphold Card US
Free on both plans
Physical card
Gnosis Pay
30.23 EURe one-time; shipping free
Uphold Card US
Essential: $4.99 plastic; Elite: metal included in $99.99 annual plan
04

Plans

2 fields
Available plans
Gnosis Pay
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
2 plans: Essential, Elite
Top cashback plan
Gnosis Pay
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Elite: 3%
05

Everyday use

8 fields
Network
Gnosis Pay
Visa
Uphold Card US
Visa
Card formats
Gnosis Pay
Virtual, Physical
Uphold Card US
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Gnosis Pay
Available
Uphold Card US
Available
Mobile wallets
Gnosis Pay
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Uphold Card US
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Gnosis Pay
Web
Uphold Card US
iOS, Android
Daily spending limit
Gnosis Pay
8,000 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/day; 5,000 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/transaction
Uphold Card US
Essential: $2,500/day; Elite: $25,000/day
Monthly spending limit
Gnosis Pay
Not disclosed
Uphold Card US
Essential: $10,000/month; Elite: $100,000/month
ATM limit
Gnosis Pay
250 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/withdrawal; 500 EURe/GBPe/USDCe/day
Uphold Card US
Essential: $500/day, $2,000/month; Elite: $2,000/day, $10,000/month
06

Funding & transfers

5 fields
Networks
Gnosis Pay
Gnosis Chain
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Gnosis Pay
Stablecoins: EURe, GBPe, USDCe
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Gnosis Pay
Receive-only SEPA IBAN
Uphold Card US
Linked US bank account, USD bank transfer, External card deposit
Transfers
Gnosis Pay
Stablecoin transfers; IBAN outbound
Uphold Card US
US bank withdrawal
Payout currencies
Gnosis Pay
EURe
Uphold Card US
USD
07

Rewards

3 fields
Base cashback
Gnosis Pay
0%
Uphold Card US
2%
Max cashback
Gnosis Pay
5%
Uphold Card US
4%
Reward currency
Gnosis Pay
GNO cashback
Uphold Card US
XRP
08

Earn

5 fields
Advertised APY
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
How it works
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Separate deposit
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Use balance for spending
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
Lock-up
Gnosis Pay
Not offered
Uphold Card US
Not offered
09

Trust & availability

8 fields
Custody
Gnosis Pay
Self-custody
Uphold Card US
Custodial
Control until payment
Gnosis Pay
You keep control
Uphold Card US
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Gnosis Pay
Monavate
Uphold Card US
Cross River Bank
Card processing
Gnosis Pay
Paymentology
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Gnosis Pay
Safe{Wallet}
Uphold Card US
Uphold HQ Inc.
Bank transfers
Gnosis Pay
Monerium
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Identity verification
Gnosis Pay
Sumsub
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
Programme operator
Gnosis Pay
Gnosis Pay
Uphold Card US
Not disclosed
10

Sources

2 fields
Official sources
Gnosis Pay
17
Uphold Card US
13
Last reviewed
Gnosis Pay
Sep 6, 2026
Uphold Card US
Oct 14, 2026

04 · The verdict

Plan around the Gnosis Pay wind-down

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced.

An Overall Score does not extend a card's service life. Existing users can review the recorded costs below, but new applicants should consider a live programme and confirm its country eligibility.

Read the Gnosis transition notice and our Rebind profile before migrating.

05 · Common questions

Gnosis Pay vs Uphold US FAQ

Is Gnosis Pay or Uphold US better overall?

Gnosis Pay's consumer card and dashboard are winding down by the end of 2026. Existing cards continue during the transition; the exact shutdown day has not been announced. Gnosis Pay is not a current recommendation, regardless of its numerical score.

Which has lower fees, Gnosis Pay or Uphold US?

Gnosis Pay has the lower published FX fee (0% vs 0–1.5%). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Gnosis Pay or Uphold US?

Uphold Card US has the higher published base cashback rate (2% vs 0%). Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Gnosis Pay and Uphold US differ on custody?

Gnosis Pay uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Uphold Card US uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Gnosis Pay vs Uphold US comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 14, 2026, using 30 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

06 · Test the winner

Put the leading card against another close alternative, or choose a new pair yourself.

Open the comparison workspace