Side-by-side card comparison

Plasma One vs Coinbase One

Plasma One Card has the higher Overall Score by 33 points (89 vs 56). Plasma One Card also looks stronger for Cashback, Travel, Funds control, Lowest fees, and Transfers. The details below show where Coinbase One Card may still be the better personal fit.

Latest check Oct 18, 202635 official sources reviewed

Plasma One Card

Best fit

  • Plasma users spending stablecoins through a non-custodial wallet-linked Visa.
  • Combining bank receive and payout routes with everyday stablecoin spending.
  • Trying Lite without an annual plan fee or committing XPL to a tier lock.

Before you choose

  • Cashback is paid in XPL; higher tiers can require a 12-month token lock.
  • Lite adds 1% Plasma FX plus Visa conversion fees, typically around 1%.
  • ATMs require a physical card and cost $2 + 2%, before operator and FX fees.

Coinbase One Card

Best fit

  • Existing Coinbase One members who already pay for an eligible plan.
  • Everyday credit-card spending with 2% back in BTC on eligible purchases.
  • Booking through Coinbase One Card Travel for 5% back in BTC.

Before you choose

  • Eligible membership starts at $49.99/year; Basic monthly does not qualify.
  • 4% needs $200,000 on Coinbase; boosted rates cover $10,000/month of spend.
  • U.S. residents only, excluding territories; credit approval is required.

Signup offers

Plasma One Card

Get $10

$10 after qualifying Plasma One card spend

  • Join as a new user through the link, complete identity verification and activate a card.
  • Spend $100 on qualifying card purchases at two or more distinct merchants within 14 days of code redemption.
  • The $10 reward is card spend credit, not withdrawable cash.
  • CARDGD is a separate access code; 4E7CQV is the referral code.
  • The invited user's identity-document country must not be Nigeria, Bangladesh or Kenya. Only settled eligible purchases count.

Plasma One referral code4E7CQV

CARDGD is a separate access code. Check the current referral conditions in the Plasma One app before spending. The $10 spend credit is paid on the following Thursday after qualifying purchases settle; pending authorizations, refunds and wallet transfers do not count.

See other offers

Bonuses do not affect scores.

Partner links may earn us a commission. Affiliate disclosure

Fees & features

Compare the details

Best markers compare published, comparable values. Unknown values never win a row.

Best known Not disclosed
Cards
01

Scores

Overall Score
Plasma One Card
89
Coinbase One Card
56
Cashback score
Plasma One Card
79
Coinbase One Card
40
Travel score
Plasma One Card
92
Coinbase One Card
60
Funds control score
Plasma One Card
100
Coinbase One Card
36
Lowest fees score
Plasma One Card
80
Coinbase One Card
40
Transfers score
Plasma One Card
100
Coinbase One Card
24
02

Costs

Plan cost
Plasma One Card
$0
Coinbase One Card
$49.99/year
FX fee
Plasma One Card
0.5–1%
Coinbase One Card
0% foreign transaction fee; Amex conversion rates remain separate
Top-up fee
Plasma One Card
0%
Coinbase One Card
Linked U.S. bank or accepted Coinbase wallet repayment; crypto spread varies
Card spending fee
Plasma One Card
Not disclosed
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
ATM fee
Plasma One Card
$2 + 2% per withdrawal with a physical card; $1 balance inquiry; $1 declined attempt. Operator surcharges are separate. Non-USD withdrawals incur tier FX fees; Platinum has no FX fee. ATM withdrawals earn no cashback
Coinbase One Card
Cash advance: greater of $10 or 5%, plus variable interest from posting and possible ATM-operator fees
Virtual card
Plasma One Card
Up to 3 free virtual cards by tier
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Physical card
Plasma One Card
First physical card free in the currently confirmed Core and Platinum flows. Core standard delivery is $20 and express is $50; Platinum standard delivery is free and express is $30. Additional or replacement cards cost $40 for Core and $120 for Platinum.
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
03

Plans

Available plans
Plasma One Card
3 plans: Lite, Core, Platinum
Coinbase One Card
4 plans: AOC tier 1: 2%, AOC tier 2: 2.5%, AOC tier 3: 3%, AOC tier 4: 4%
Top cashback plan
Plasma One Card
Platinum: 4%
Coinbase One Card
AOC tier 4: 4%: 4%
04

Everyday use

Network
Plasma One Card
Visa
Coinbase One Card
American Express
Card formats
Plasma One Card
Virtual, Physical
Coinbase One Card
Virtual, Physical
ATM withdrawals
Plasma One Card
Available
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Mobile wallets
Plasma One Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Coinbase One Card
Apple Pay, Google Pay
Apps
Plasma One Card
iOS, Android
Coinbase One Card
iOS, Android, Web
Daily spending limit
Plasma One Card
Shown in app
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable daily spend ceiling
Monthly spending limit
Plasma One Card
Shown in app
Coinbase One Card
Personalized credit limit; no reusable monthly spend ceiling
ATM limit
Plasma One Card
$1,000 per withdrawal; 3 attempts per rolling 24 hours, including declines. Withdrawals also count toward the card's daily spending limit.
Coinbase One Card
Cash access and its sublimit are determined by the issuer
05

Funding & transfers

Networks
Plasma One Card
Plasma, Ethereum, Solana, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum +5
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Crypto deposits
Plasma One Card
Stablecoins: USDT, USDC, USDG, USDe, PYUSD +2; Other crypto: ETH, WBTC, HYPE, WETH, cbBTC +7
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Fiat deposits
Plasma One Card
USD virtual account, EUR / GBP virtual accounts, MXN / BRL local transfers, COP virtual account
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Transfers
Plasma One Card
Stablecoin transfers; Plasma One usernames; Virtual account withdrawals
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Payout currencies
Plasma One Card
USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL, COP
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
06

Rewards

Base cashback
Plasma One Card
2%
Coinbase One Card
2%
Max cashback
Plasma One Card
10%
Coinbase One Card
4%
Reward currency
Plasma One Card
USD cashback paid in XPL
Coinbase One Card
Bitcoin
07

Earn

Advertised APY
Plasma One Card
Up to 5% APY
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
How it works
Plasma One Card
Optional earn vault
Coinbase One Card
Borrow against collateral
Separate deposit
Plasma One Card
Yes
Coinbase One Card
No
Use balance for spending
Plasma One Card
No
Coinbase One Card
No
Lock-up
Plasma One Card
No
Coinbase One Card
Yes
08

Trust & availability

Custody
Plasma One Card
Self-custody
Coinbase One Card
Custodial
Control until payment
Plasma One Card
You keep control
Coinbase One Card
Provider controls funds
Card issuer
Plasma One Card
Rain, Third National
Coinbase One Card
First Electronic Bank
Card processing
Plasma One Card
0x
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Custody / key management
Plasma One Card
Privy, Veda
Coinbase One Card
Coinbase, Inc.
Deposits & withdrawals
Plasma One Card
Bridge, Bridge Ventures LLC
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
Programme operator
Plasma One Card
Plasma
Coinbase One Card
Not disclosed
09

Sources

Official sources
Plasma One Card
12
Coinbase One Card
23
Last reviewed
Plasma One Card
Oct 18, 2026
Coinbase One Card
Oct 11, 2026

Choosing between these cards

When to choose Plasma One or Coinbase One

Keeping control of your funds

Plasma One suits spending while retaining control of your funds until payment. With Coinbase One, control passes to the provider before the purchase.

How you receive rewards

Choose by the reward asset you want to receive: Plasma One lists USD cashback paid in XPL; Coinbase One lists Bitcoin. For Plasma One: Cashback is paid in XPL; higher tiers can require a 12-month token lock.

Keeping recurring costs down

Plasma One's base plan is $0, compared with $49.99/year for Coinbase One. This favours Plasma One for occasional use; card issuance and transaction fees are separate.

Common questions

Plasma One vs Coinbase One FAQ

Is Plasma One or Coinbase One better overall?

Plasma One Card has the higher Overall Score (89 vs 56). That does not make it better for everyone: your preferred fees, rewards, way of holding funds and country availability can change the practical choice.

Which has lower fees, Plasma One or Coinbase One?

Plasma One Card has the lower starting plan cost ($0 vs $49.99/year). Compare plan, FX, card-spend, top-up and ATM charges separately because one fee does not represent the full cost.

Which has better cashback, Plasma One or Coinbase One?

Both cards show the same base cashback rate of 2%. Maximum rates may depend on tiers, caps, categories or other conditions, so the entry rate and reward asset matter too.

How do Plasma One and Coinbase One differ on custody?

Plasma One Card uses a self-controlled wallet setup, while Coinbase One Card uses a custodial balance setup. Neither approach is always better, so choose the level of control you are comfortable with.

How current is this Plasma One vs Coinbase One comparison?

The latest information check for these two cards was October 18, 2026, using 35 official sources in total. Each full card review lists its own check date, sources and anything the provider has not clearly disclosed.

More comparisons

Open the comparison workspace